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Paul Gillin's presentation from the Sept. 22, 2010 meeting of the AAF West Michigan. Please feel free to download
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10 Secrets of Social Media Marketing
Paul Gillin, Author
The New Influencers
Secrets of Social Media Marketing
Social Marketing to the Business Customer
Objectives ◦Create awareness for new mainframe
value proposition ◦Increase mainframe awareness with
college students Results
◦>250,000 views of first episode ◦Blog traffic increased 25x◦Analyst, press, blogger coverage
Page 3
The Media in Collapse
2001 2009 Change
Woman’s Day 1.61M 410,000 -74%Redbook 556,300 154,600 -72%Playboy 522,800 203,200 -71%Country Living 380,200 134,900 -64%Nati Enquirer 1.65M 591,300 -64%Reader’s Digest 750,000 270,000 -64%ESPN Magazine 54,350 25,200 -63%
US Magazine Circulation
1994
1995
1996
1997
1998
1999
2000
2001
2002
2003
2004
2005
2006
2007
2008
2009
0
10,000
20,000
30,000
40,000
50,000
60,000
70,000
US Newspaper Business
Circulation (000)
Revenues ($000)
Average age of US daily newspaper reader: 57
Reduction in US newsroom staffs since 2001: 45%
Growth in NBC prime time audience, 2008: -14.3%
Age of average network evening news viewer: 63
Page 4
The Way We Were
• Message
• Impressions
• Reach & Frequency
• Retention
• CPM
• Recall
• Share of Voice
• Coverage
• Rate Base
Page 5
Half of Facebook members log on every day, after which, they they: Post 60 million status updates Upload 3 million photos Stay for 55 minutes
Over on YouTube: 2 billion viewers stop by every day And upload 24 hours of video each minute While using as much bandwidth as the
entire Internet used in 2000
On Twitter: There are 600 million searches daily 300,000 new members sign up each day 50,000 third-party applications ahve been
developedGoogle
New Media Facts
Somewhat nega-tive2%
Neutral16%
Somewhat positive47%
Very positive36%
Perceived ROI of the Com-pany's Social Media Activities
Survey of 105 Marketers, April, 2010
InfluenceInversion
The New Media Landscape
Marathon schedule http://bit.ly/waCMc
Shared bread pudding w/
@skydiver at Mother's. My life
is now complete.
How to Write a 1 Minute Video
Marketing Script
http://ow.ly/17xJE
I'm at Palm Beach International
Airport (PBI, West Palm Beach).
http://4sq.com/4GeLz0
Best press photos of
2009 http://om.l
y/fNhW
I can't find my good black
pants.
Comparing Top Chef Masters Restaurants
#topchef http://is.gd/8q4
hN
How To Get Well Prepared For The Website Creation. http://bit.ly/aTitVC
Page 8
1: Small Is theNew Big
Secrets of Social Media Marketing
Page 9
Just One Guy
Estimated monthly traffic: 73,000
Google Indexed pages: 6,490
Alexis ranking: Top .12%
Inbound links: 850,771
Del.icio.us bookmarks: 1,776
New York Times citations: 115
Computerworld citations: 146
InformationWeek citations: 89
Newsletter subscribers: 150,000
Page 10
Where Would You Rather Stay?
It’s now cheap and easy to consult peers for
advice
Things will never be the same again
as a result
Page 11
No One Has to Listen Anymore
Page 12
2: You Are the Media
Secrets of Social Media Marketing
Page 13
Be Useful – Or InvisibleA Google Search for “Personal Computer” Gives You…
Not a single computer dealer appears in the top 1,000 search results!
Page 14
Thought Leadership
Page 15
Link Love
Inbound Links
8000
16000
Websites With Blogs Attract97% More Inbound Links
HubSpot Analysis of 1,500 Websites
Page 17
Blogging for Business
73 blogs
17 bloggers
600% jump in leads
Top quality
“Get engineers talking to engineers and get everyone else out of the middle.”
Rick Short, Marcom Director
Page 18
3: Be Helpful
Secrets of Social Media Marketing
Page 19
No Middleman
Today, you can take your message directly to your constituents without relying upon media intermediaries
And why would you not want to
do that?
Page 20
Share Everywhere: Clickable Gurus
Goal Generate Leads
Tactic Build awareness by sharing domain knowledge
Metrics Unique visits; Online mentions; Referrals; Conversions
Results 2,000% increase in site visitors 300% improvement in buzz index50% increase in customers400% increase in ad billings
Page 21
Advise and Inform
Page 22
4: Tools Don’t Matter
Secrets of Social Media Marketing
Page 23
Start With the Business
Business Goal Measurement Tactics Tools
Generate 30% More
Leads
Publish Six New White Papers
Initiate Monthly Webcasts
Sponsor Microsite on TechTarget
Build Targeted Twitter List (500)
Dedicated Monthly E-mail Blast
Promote To Trade Publications
List in Tech Directories
Hire Tech Freelancers
List Rentals Create CoTweet
Account Increase PR
Budget Hire E-mail
Marketing Firm Initiate Blogger
Relations Program
Goal Metrics Tactics Tools
Increase Webcast/White Paper Reg’s by 60%
Increase Traffic to WP Landing Pages 120%
Increase 800-Number Calls by 80%
Review and Revise
Page 24
YouTube
Blogging
0% 10% 20% 30% 40% 50% 60% 70% 80% 90% 100%
Value of Each Social Media Platform
Least important 2 34 Most important
Mainstays of Social Media
BtoB Magazine Survey of 387 Marketers, April, 2010
Page 25
5: Tools Are Easy; Execution Isn’t
Secrets of Social Media Marketing
Page 26
6: Know the Power of 130
Secrets of Social Media Marketing
Page 27
The Power of 130
The average Facebook member has 130 friends, who each receive notifications of their network’s Facebook activities
Page 28
7: Match Voice To Platform
Secrets of Social Media Marketing
Page 29
Customize the Message
Hey, Bobby:
Dear Robert:
Duuuuude!
@bob:
Page 30
8: Amplify
Secrets of Social Media Marketing
Page 31
Before 2006 2007 2008 20090
100
200
300
400
500
600
700
800
900
1000
New
Cumulative
Survey of 105 Marketers, April, 2010
Social Media Adoption by Year, All Platforms
Page 32
Spread the Message
Corporate website
Feed Aggregator
Partner website
Email Newsletter
Page 33
AskPatty’s Syndication Wizardry
10M quarterly impressions
100-fold amplification of blog/Web content
CEO developing side business as automotive social media consultant
“My inbox is overflowing every day with people who want speakers, partnerships, training and certifications.”
-Jody DeVere, CEO
• Syndication partners include TwitterMoms, BlogHer, Parenthood.com, SheKnows
• Articles automatically posted to bookmarking sites, multiple Facebook fan pages
Page 34
9: Measure
Secrets of Social Media Marketing
Page 35
You CAN Calculate ROI
• The lifetime value of a customer is $5,000• You send 50 tweets a month• This generates 1,000 visitors to your website• 2% of your website visitors become leads• 5% of your leads become customers• Therefore, the value of a tweet is:
(1,000 * .02 * .05 * 5000)/50 = $100
Page 36
10: Have Fun
Secrets of Social Media Marketing
Page 38
Thank you!
Paul Gillin
508-656-0734
Site: gillin.com
Blog: paulgillin.com
Twitter: pgillin