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The Art and Science of Selling and
Growth Hacking
@yellif
Hacker
“A hacker is someone who seeks and exploits weaknesses in a computer
system or computer network.”
Wikipedia
“The hacker culture is a subculture of individuals who enjoy the intellectual
challenge of creatively overcoming and circumventing limitations of software systems to achieve novel and clever
outcomes.”Wikipedia
“The hacker culture is a subculture of individuals who enjoy the intellectual
challenge of creatively overcoming and circumventing limitations of software systems to achieve novel and clever
outcomes.”Wikipedia
Hack =
To cut or chop with repeated and irregular blows
Wikipedia
Life Hacking Culture Hacking
Flow Hacking Social Hacking
Growth Hacking
Life Hacking Culture Hacking
Flow Hacking Social Hacking
Growth Hacking
Life Hacking Culture Hacking
Flow Hacking Social Hacking
Growth Hacking
Life Hacking Culture Hacking
Flow Hacking Social Hacking
Growth Hacking
Life Hacking Culture Hacking
Flow Hacking Social Hacking
Growth Hacking
Hacking = A State Mind
Always looking for ways to make thing better
Openness to new ideas Curiosity to learn and teach
Not being afraid to fail Collaborative mindset
Life Hacking Culture Hacking
Flow Hacking Social Hacking
Growth Hacking
“Growth hacking is a marketing technique developed by technology
startups which uses creativity, analytical thinking, and social metrics to
sell products and gain exposure.”
Wikipedia
“What growth hackers do is focus on the “who” and “where more
scientifically, in a more measurable way. Whereas marketing was once brand based, with growth hacking it
becomes metric and ROI driven.”
Ryan Holiday Author
“The goal of every growth hacker is to build a self perpetuating marketing
machine that reaches millions by itself”
Aaron Ginn Silicon Valley Technologist
According to Sean Ellis you need to be:
A problem Solver Empathetic Analytical
Data-driven thinker Basic coder
Obessed learner
“Could you put a message on the bottom of everyone’s screen?”
Tim Draper American Venture Capital Investor
“Let’s be honest, a traditional marketer would not even be close to imagining this integration
- there’s too many technical details needed for it to happen. As a result, it could only come out
of the mind f an engineer tasked with the problem of acquiring more users on Craigslist”
Andrew Chen Author
The process of growth Hacking
The Startup Growth PyramidInventor of Growth Hacking Sean Ellis created this pyramid.
1. Product/Market Fit
• How do you know if people really want your product
• Ask them this question with the following rating scale:
• At least 40% of existing users saying „very disappointed“
The Startup Growth Pyramid: Product/Market Fit
How do you reach a Product/Market fit?
1. Do I have a problem worth solving?
2. Who are my (early) adopters?
3. What is my unfair advantage/solution?
4. Build an MVP, test your main assumptions
5. Qualitative learning + metric analysis
“When you are Before Product fit, focus obsessively on getting to product/market fit. Do whatever is required to get to product/market fit. Including
changing out people, rewriting your product, moving into a different market, telling customers no when you don’t want to, telling customers yes when you
don’t want to… whatever is required”
Marc Andreessen Entrepreneur & Software engineer
The Startup Growth Pyramid: Growth Preparation
1. Promise: Highlight the benefits described by your “must have”
users (those that say they would be very disappointed without
your product).
2. Economics: Implement the business model that allows you to
profitably acquire the most users.
3. Optimize: Streamline a repeatable, scalable customer acquisition
process by testing multiple approaches and tracking to improve the
right metrics.
The Startup Growth Pyramid: Growth
3. Growth
• Optimize your conversion rate
• Improve scalable customer acquisition
• Business model is validated
If all these are achieved, it is time to scale and invest!
Don‘t forget: Still go and test, test, test & track the right metrics!
Or Ask Your Customers:
What is it that brought you to this product? What is holding you back from referring
others? What’s missing? What’s Golden?
WORKSHOP Spend 8 minutes working through
your own business and working out what your customers would say
Acquisition sources & Tactics
Analysis of 56 milllion website visits:
70% of traffic comes from Google (50 times more traffic than Facebook is generating)
Desktop computer largest revenue driver (74% of revenues)
Tablet and mobile market growing -> your website needs to be responsive
Analysis of Website Traffic
• SEO (Search Engine Optimization) • SEM (Google Ads) • Facebook Marketing & Open Graph • Virality • Youtube • Blog & Podcasts • Content (ebooks, webinars etc.) • Influencers/Bloggers • Partnerships
• Affiliate marketing • PR (Press Relation) • Startup Contests • Events • Deal sites • Online Contests • Deal Sites • Web Scraping • Email Marketing
Acquisition Sources Overview
Acquisition Sources: Search Engine Marketing (SEM)
• In KeyWord Planner, select keywords depending on competition and bid
• Create your campaigns and ads
• Set your budget, taking into account your margin by product/service
• Analyze the data
• Optimize your campaign
• Be careful! You can loose a lot of money on Adwords – pay an expert or invest in
yourself to become one
• SEM will probably represent 30% of your traffic
Acquisition Sources: Facebook Marketing
• Check out: www.facebook.com/ads
• You can create an Ad to send people to your website & track conversions
• Integrate the SEO Facebook Open graph meta tags to all of your pages!
• Facebook marketing is very efficient as it is targeted at people with a very
specific demographic and personal profile
Acquisition Sources: Content (ebooks, webinars etc)
• A perfect way to build your authority
• Could be a call-to-action on your website. Example:
• „Sign up to receive 5% off“
• A good way to have some qualitative backlinks
• Backlinks are good for Search Engine Optimization
75 890 2 486
8 Influencers
Influencer Marketing
1,892,213
Outcome:*** Reached #1 in Swedish App store ***
*** CPD reduced by 50% ***
+Social shopping app
Influencer marketing platform
=
Influencer Marketing
Exclusivity
Social Sharing
Refer a friend
Targeting niche audiences
Bring unique aspects of brand to life
Newsletters are the new blogs
Tools and Metrics
Growth Hacking
The Cash Addiction Model
10.000 people reached
100 clicks to your website
2 conversions
Margin = 120$
Click-through rate. Example: 1%
Conversion rate. Example 2%
Margin per conversion. Example: $120*50% = 60$
You make money if Cost per click (CPC) Is below $ 1.20
• Simple calculation model to show how much can be spent for generating leads and converting
customers
Growth Hacking
Key Performance Indicators (KPIs)CAC – Customer Acquisition Cost
Conversion Rates
Repeat visitor Ratio (RVR)
CLV – Customer Lifetime Value
K-factor (virality factor)
CAC = Marketing Costs / Number of Customers acquired
CR = Number of conversions / number of visitors
RVR = % of users with X + visits in Y days after first visit
CLV = MR * GMR * Lifespan MR – Avrg. Monthly Revenue per Customer
GMR – Avrg. Growth Margin Rate per Customer Lifespan – months customers on avrg stay
K = i * conversion percentage I = avrg. Number of invites sent by one customer
Example of using these tools
Create a landing page about a product or an opportunity that you may have discovered
• Google Analytics – analyzes how users find you, where they are from etc. etc.
• Unbounce – offers great abilities to test several versions of a website/app
simultaneously
• Survey Monkey – Use Forms or questionnaires to find out more critical data about
your customers
• Colibri - shows you where your customers are engaging online so that you can insert
yourself into relevant conversations.
WORKSHOP Where do you think the growth
hacking opportunities are in your business?
WORKSHOP Plotting your customer journeys
HOMEWORK
What can we learn from the way that kickstarter works?
Present a growth hack for your business
What? Why?
How are you going to measure it?
Customer retention
Search “Creative Super Powers Unbound”
Pledge for our new book and use
SUPERPOWERSfor 10% discount