Withdrawal - Transactional Analysis

  • View
    327

  • Download
    0

Embed Size (px)

DESCRIPTION

When a person withdraws, she may stay with the group physically, but does not transact with other group members. During withdrawal, the only stroke I can get or give are self strokes.

Text of Withdrawal - Transactional Analysis

  • 1.Withdrawal

2. Prepared By Manu Melwin Joy Research Scholar School of Management Studies CUSAT, Kerala, India. Phone 9744551114 Mail manu_melwinjoy@yahoo.com Kindly restrict the use of slides for personal purpose. Please seek permission to reproduce the same in public forms and presentations. 3. Withdrawal When a person withdraws, she may stay with the group physically, but does not transact with other group members. During withdrawal, the only stroke I can get or give are self strokes. They try to avoid psychological risk of rejection. 4. Withdrawal Withdrawing is sometimes a rational adult decision. People need time to be alone, to relax, to think their own thoughts, to take stock of themselves and to be rejuvenated in their individual humanness. 5. Withdrawal Withdrawing is sometimes based on copying parents. In this case, person imitates parental behaviors. For example, a man threatened by conflict with his wife may withdraw as his father did when his mother got mad. 6. Withdrawal Withdrawing patterns also come from child ego state. These are often replays of a persons childhood adaptations out of the necessity for self protection from pain or conflict. They may also be the result of training. 7. Withdrawal When a person withdraws psychologically, it is often into a fantasy world. These fantasies are likely to be of uncensored pleasure or violence, creative imaginings or of learned fears and catastrophic expectations. Everyone withdraws into fantasy world from time to time. 8. Thank You 9. Other TA topics available on slideshare 1. Strokes - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/strokes-24081607. 2. Games People Play - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/psychological- games-people-play. 3. Structural Analysis - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/the-ego-state-model. 4. What is TA? - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/what-ta-is 5. Cycles of Development - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/cycles-of- developement-pamela-levin-transactional-analysis. 6. Stages of Cure - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/stages-of-cure. 7. Transactions - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/transactions-33677298. 8. Time Structuring - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/time-structuring. 9. Life Position - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/life-position. 10. Autonomy - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/autonomy-33690557. 11. Structural Pathology - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/structural-pathology. 12. Game Analysis - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/game-analysis-33725636. 13. Integrated Adult - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/integrated-adult. 14. Stroke Economy - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/stroke-economy- 33826702.