41
Adver&sing Technology Overview September 2014 1

Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

Embed Size (px)

DESCRIPTION

This is an overview of the ad tech ecosystem. Research was conducted by Thomvest Ventures. It covers topics such as DSP, SSP, Agency, Video, Mobile, and TV advertising.

Citation preview

Page 1: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

Adver&sing  Technology  Overview

September  2014

1  

Page 2: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

2  

$0  

$20  

$40  

$60  

$80  

$100  

$120  

$140  

$160  

$180  

$200  

2011A 2012A 2013E 2014E 2015E 2016E

TV Print Radio Digital  (Ex-­‐Mobile) Mobile Other

US  Adver&sing  Spending  By  Format  ($B)  

Source:  eMarketer,  Jefferies      

Total    ad  spend  con&nues  to  grow,  fueled  by  TV  and  Digital  (display  and  mobile)  

•  Total  ad  spending  expected  to  reach  $190.86B  in  2013

•  TV  captures  the  lion  share  of  the  market  –  39.1%  or  $64.5B  in  2012  

Mobile  and  digital  video  are  the  fastest  growing  segment  

•  By  2017,  eMarketer  expects  mobile  to  be  13%  of  the  market

•  Digital  video  (mobile  and  display)  is  the  fastest-­‐growing  segment

Print  con&nues  to  decline,  mostly  driven  by  decline  in  newspaper  readership  

•  Newspapers  is  expected  to  fall  to  $16.2B  by  2016

•  Magazines  are  expected  to  stabilize  at  $15.1B  per  year  for  the  foreseeable  future  

Despite  growth  in  digital,  consumers  remain  more  resistant  to  digital  formats

•  45%  vs.  39%  had  a  nega&ve  a^tude  towards  digital  vs.  TV  formats  respec&vely

   

Note:  Other  includes  outdoor  and  directories.  Detailed  defini&ons  in  appendix  

Total  US  Adver&sing  Spend

Page 3: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

0%

10%

20%

30%

40%

50%

Search Display Banners

Classifieds Mobile Digital Video Lead Generation

Rich Media

2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012

3  Source:  IAB  ,  eMarketer  

Digital  Ad  Format  Share  (%  of  total  US  digital  ad  revenue)  

Search  retains  the  largest  share  of  market •  Search  has  consistently  owned  more  than  40%  of  the  market,  and  will  con&nue  to  grow  steadily

Mobile  is  experiencing  the  most  rapid  growth  in  terms  of  ad  budget  alloca&on

•  Share  of  ad  spend  on  mobile  has  grown  the  fastest  since  IAB  began  measuring  in  2010  

•  Widespread  smartphone  adop&on,  faster  connec&on  speeds,  new  in-­‐app  ad  formats  contribute  to  growth

Digital  video  is  also  growing  quickly  but  with  caveats  

•  75%  of  marke&ng  professionals  globally  plan  to  increase  their  on  video  ad  and  content  spend  next  year  

•  However,  Tremor  Q3  2013  reports  were  lackluster,  causing  a  50%  drop  in  share  price

Google  owns  majority  of  internet  display  and  mobile  market  share

•  According  to  eMarketer,  Google  owns  52.36%  of  net  2012  mobile  internet  ad  revenues  ($4.61B)  

•  Twiger  is  growing  the  fastest  in  digital  adver&sing,  up  106.7%  in  2012  at  $290M  in  revenue,  up  from  $140M  in  2011

 

   

US  Digital  Ad  Revenue  Format  Share

Page 4: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

4  

Adver&sing  Technology  Ecosystem

Source:  Rubicon,  Cantor  Fitzgerald,  Comscore,  Thomvest  Research

Adver+sin

g  Ag

ency  

Supp

ly  Side  Pla8

orm  

Programma+c  Guaranteed    (Direct  Order  Automa+on)  

Auc+on  Markets    (Ad  Networks  and  

Exchanges)  

Demand  Side

 Pla8o

rms  

Adver+sers  

Agen

cy  Trading  Desk  

Publish

ers  (Inventory)  

$$  

$$  

$$  $$   $$  

$$  

$$  

$$  

$$  

$$  

$$  

$$  

Page 5: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

5  

How  Things  Work:  Third-­‐Party  Ad  Serving  

User Publisher  Web/  App  Server

Publisher  Ad  Server

Marketer  Ad  Server

Source:  Thomvest  Research,  AdOpsInsider

SSP

Ad  Exchange

DSP1

DSP2

Content  Distribu&on  Network

User  hits  the  website,  publisher’s  web  server  is  called  and  sends  back  content  and  ad  tag.  

1 User’s  browser  sends  ad  request  to  publisher  ad  server  along  with  cookie  informa&on.  

2

Publisher’s  ad  server  sends  back  an  ad  tag  for  user’s  browser  to  access  SSP  for  ad  auc&on.

3

SSP  chooses  winner  and  sends  an  ad  tag  to  the  user  with  marketer’s  ad  server  informa&on.

4Marketer’s  ad  server  sends  ad  tag  to  user’s  browser    to  call  the  Content  Distribu&on  Network.

5

CDN  delivers  ad  to  user’s  browser  and  the  marketer’s  ad  server  is  called  to  inject  a  1x1  tracking  pixel.  

6

Page 6: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

6  

How  Things  Work:  Programma&c  Ad  Buying Programma&c  buying  is  an  automated  transac&on  between  the  buyer  and  the  seller  where:

•  the  buyer  can  determine  the  quality  and  subsequently  the  price  of  the  audience  on  the  fly •  the  seller  can  iden&fy  the  best  value  for  their  ad  space •  the  best  sale  price  is  determined  through  a  mul&-­‐party  auc&on •  the  best  determined  buyer  gets  to  buy  the  ad  spot

The  auc&on  between  various  par&es  happens  through  an  ad  marketplace  or  an  exchange  and  this  auc&on  leverages  a  protocol  called  Real  Time  Bidding  (RTB)  which  helps  various  par&es  communicate  with  one  another.

The  Benefits: The  Process:

Source:  Persicopix

Page 7: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

Seconds

7  

How  Things  Work:  Real  Time  Bidding  (RTB)  

User  clicks  on  URL  and  publisher’s  content  begins  to  load

Seconds

Publisher  asks  its  ad  server  if  an  ad  is  available.  If  not,  server  asks  Ad  Exchange

0.04

Seconds

Ad  Exchange  federates  ad  request  to  mul&ple  demand  side  planorms  (DSPs)

0.08

Seconds

Ad  Exchange  sends  user’s  anonymous  profile,  website  category,  and  page  ad  safety  informa&on

0.10

Seconds

Each  DSP  overlays  adver&ser  targe&ng  and  budget  rules,  and  applies  third-­‐party  data

0.12

Seconds

Each  DSP  algorithm  evaluates  and  computes  op&mal  bid  for  adver&ser

0.125

Seconds

Each  DSP  responds  to  Ad  Exchange  

0.13

Seconds

Ad  Exchange  runs  a  second-­‐price  auc&on  and  selects  winning  bid  form  DSP  response

0.14

Seconds

Ad  Exchange  sends  price  and  ad  from  winning  bid  to  publisher’s  ad  server

0.18

Seconds

Publisher’s  ad  server  tells  browser  which  ad  to  display

0.19

Seconds

Adver&ser’s  ad  server  sends  winning  ad  to  browser

0.23

Seconds

Browser  displays  web  page  including  winning  ad,  and  signals  to  winning  DSP  the  ad  was  viewed

0.31

0.0

Seconds 0.36

The  en+re  RTB  ad  buying  process  takes    ~  .36  seconds    

Source:  Turn,  Thomvest  Research

Page 8: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

8  

RTB  Market  Size  

Source:  eMarketer

RTB  is  currently  20%  of  the  digital  display  ad  market  but  will  con&nue  to  grow  as  more  premium  content  is  distributed  on  RTB  and  agribu&on  and  targe&ng  technology  improves.  

Page 9: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

9  

Pricing  Models  in  Digital  Adver&sing

Effec-ve  Cost  Per  1000  Impressions  (eCPM)  

Publishers  are  paid  under  a  common  denominator,  net  

effec+ve  CPM.  For  CPE,  eCPM  is  calculated  as  (net  revenue/#  of  impressions)*1000.  eCPM  is  also  known  as  RPM  (revenue  per  mille)  

Publisher  

Adver+ser    

Cost-­‐Per  Engagement  (CPE)

Adver&ser  only  pays  if  a  user  completes  an  

ac&on.  Common  pricing  models:

•  Cost-­‐per-­‐click  (CPC) •  Cost-­‐per-­‐view  (CPV) •  Cost-­‐per-­‐ac&on  (CPA) •  Cost-­‐per-­‐install  (CPI)  

Cost-­‐Per  1000  Impression  (CPM)   Adver&sers  pay  

whenever  an  ad  is  shown,  regardless  of  

whether  user  converts.  CPM  is  used  more  for  brand  lio  rather  than  user  engagement.    

Source:  IAB,  AppFlood,    Thomvest  Research  

CPM  Pricing  Model  Example

Adver&ser

Buys  10,000  impressions  at  $5  gross  CPM

Total  cost:   $5*10,000

=  $50

Intermediary  (ad  network)

Takes  40%  cut  from  publisher

Total  revenue: 40%*$50=$20

Publisher

Earns  a  net  CPM  of  $3  (60%*$5)

Total  revenue: $3/1,000* 10,000=$30

CPE  Pricing  Model  Example

Adver&ser

Buys  app  installs  at  $5  per  install.  10  installs  aoer  

10,000  impressions.

Total  cost:   $5*10= $50

Intermediary  (ad  network)

Takes  40%  cut  from  publisher

Total  revenue  : 40%*$50=$20

Publisher

Earns  a  net  eCPM  of  $3  (60%*$50/

10,000)*1000

Total  revenue: $3/1,000* 10,000=$30

Methods  to  Calculate  CPM  and  eCPM eCPM  (CPI)  =  Click-­‐Through-­‐Rate    x  Install-­‐Rate  x  Bid  (CPI)  x  1000 eCPM  (CPC)  =  Click-­‐Through-­‐Rate  x  Bid  (CPC)  x  1000 eCPM  (CPM)=  Bid  (CPM)  x  1000 Note:  Adver&sers  pay  gross  CPM,  Publishers  earn  net  CPM  aoer  intermediary  costs.  

Page 10: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

10  

Pricing  Models  in  Digital  Adver&sing

46% 48%

45%

39% 37%

33% 31% 32%

41%

47%

51%

57% 59%

62% 65%

66%

13%

5% 4% 4% 4% 5% 4%

2% 0%

10%

20%

30%

40%

50%

60%

70%

2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012

CPM Performance Hybrid

Ad  Revenue  by  Pricing  Model  (%  of  Ad  Revenue)  

Source:  IAB,  Thomvest  Research  

Performance-­‐based  digital  ads  generate  the  largest  por&on  of  ad  revenue  as  compared  to  CPM  and  hybrid  ads.   Note:  Performance-­‐based  ads  are  synonymous  with  cost-­‐per-­‐engagement  pricing  models.

Page 11: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

11  

Top  20  Ad  Networks  (ComScore)

Source:  Comscore,  Thomvest  Research  

0  

50,000  

100,000  

150,000  

200,000  

250,000  

Sept.  2013  -­‐  Top  20  Ad  Networks  and  Buy  Side  Networks  by  Unique  Visitor  (000)

Page 12: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

12  

DataXu  is  a  DSP  for  omnichannel  targe&ng,  guaranteed  media,  and  private  exchanges.  

Employees  &  Status:  290+,  Private Products:  DX3  Planorm  (DSP),  DX  Social  (social  DSP),  DX  Brand  (brand  management),  DX  Mobile  (mobile  DSP),  and  DX  Video Investors:  Atlas  Ventures,  Flybridge,  Menlo  Ventures,  Thomvest  Ventures

Turn  is  a  DMP  and  DSP  that  uses  online  and  offline  sources  to  drive  mul&-­‐channel  marke&ng  decisions. Employees  &  Status:  341+,  Private Products:  Origin  Digital  Marke&ng  Hub,  Origin  Media  DSP,  Origin  Analy&cs,  Origin  Data  Management  Planorm,  and  Origin  Site Investors:  Norwest  Ventures,  Shasta,  Trident  Capital,  Focus  Ventures  

MediaMath  is  a  DSP    and  DMP  that  has  been  used  by  over  3,500  brands. Employees  &  Status:  395+,  Private Products:  TerminalOne  (RTB,  campaign  management,  targe&ng),  Feature  Spotlight  (audience  buying  and  private  marketplace),  and  MathClarity  (analy&cs). Investors:    Silicon  Valley  bank,  QED  Investors,  European  Founders  Fund,  Safeguard  Scien&sts  

Rockenuel  is  a  DSP  ad  network  that  generates  two-­‐thirds  of  its  revenue  from  performance  ads  and  the  rest  from  brand  ads.  

Employees  &  Status:  1000+,  Public  (FUEL) Products:  Rocket  Fuel  for  display,  video,  mobile,  social,  marketers,  publishers  and  networks   Investors:  MDV,  Nokia  Growth  Partners,  Labrador  Ventures,  Comerica  Bank,  Northgate,  Summit  Partners,  Cross  Creek

Criteo  is  an  adver&sing  retarge&ng  and  programma&c  ad  network  (6,000  publishers).  The  company  focuses  on  product-­‐level  recommenda&on  ads  based  on  a  CPC  model.  

Employees  &  Status:  1000+,  Public  (CRTO) Products:  Criteo’s  Performance  Op&miza&on  Planorm  (CPOP),  Programma&c  buying,  FB  Exchange,  Mobile,  Ad-­‐X  Tracking   Investors:  Bessemer  Venture  Partners,  Index  Ventures,  IDInvest  Partners,  Elaia  Partners

AdRoll  is  a  retarge&ng  company.  Unlike  Criteo,  AdRoll  does  not  use  a  media  arbitrage  model;  AdRoll  generates  revenue  based  on  %  of  media  spend.   Employees  &  Status:  640+,  Private Features:    Facebook  retarge&ng,  customer  segmenta&on,  analy&cs,  Liquid  Ads  (dynamically  retargeted  ads)   Investors:  Founda&on  Capital,  Accel,  Floodgate,  Merus  Capital,  Peter  Thiel

Notable  DSPs  and  Retarge&ng  Companies

Source:  TechCrunch,  AdExchanger,  Inc.,  Businessweek,  SEC,  Linkedin,  Forbes,  Thomvest Note:  All  informa4on  is  publicly  available

Page 13: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

DSP  1 35%

DSP  2 13% DSP  3

12%

DSP  4 11%

DSP  5 7%

DSP  6 6%

DSP  7 4%

DSP  8 4%

DSP  9 4%

DSP  10 1%

Other 3%

Market  Share  by  DSP,  Q1’13

13  Source:  CasaleMedia  (Index  Exchange)

DSP  Market  Share  (Desktop  &  Mobile)  

DSP  1 20%

DSP  2 17%

DSP  3 13%

DSP  4 12%

DSP  5 7%

DSP  6 7%

DSP  7 6%

DSP  8 5%

DSP  9 4%

DSP  10 3%

Other 6%

Market  Share  by  DSP,  Q2’13

Note:  Index  by  CasaleMedia  is  an  exchange  layer  that  enables  publishers  and  suppliers  to  sell  their  ad  impressions  in  real  &me  (in  essence,  a  SSP).  Index  tracks  over  40,000  brands  and  adver&sers  globally  on  a  daily  basis  across  RTB  marketplaces.  Index  processes  3  to  4  billion  bids  per  day.  

According  to  Index  Exchange,  over  70%  of  ad  spend  on  its  planorm  was  concentrated  among  only  5  DSPs.  Top  three  DSPs  accounted  for  42%  of  the  market.  

Page 14: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

14  

Rubicon  is  a  SSP  and  premium  ad  network.  The  company  claims  it  powers  40%  of  the  top  500  publishers  and  works  with  over  100,000  adver&sers.  

Employees  &  Status:  450+,  Public  (RUBI) Products:  Adver&sing  Automa&on  Cloud,  Buyer  Cloud,  Seller  Cloud   Investors:  Clearstone  Ventures,  Mayfield,  IDG  Ventures,  Peacock  Equity,  SVB,  Square  1

PubMa&c  is  a  SSP.  The  company  claims  it  works  with  400+  adver&sing  partners.  

Employees  &  Status:  354+,  Private Products:  PubMa&c  Premier  (ad  solu&ons  for  large  media  companies),  AdFlex  (ad  purchasing  system),  REVV  (yield  op&miza&on  planorm),  PubConnect,  and  PubMa&c  Ad  Auc&on  Engine Investors:  Nexus  VP,  DFJ,  Helion  VP,  August  Capital,  SVB  

Admeld  is  an  SSP  that  powers  Google’s  DoubleClick  for  Adver&sers.  Admeld  was  acquired  for  ~$400M  in  2011.  

Employees  &  Status:  N/A,  Acquired  by  Google Features:  Ad  serving,  yield  and  sales  management,    mobile,  video,  audience  management,  rich  media Investors:    Foundry  Group,  Spark  Capital,  Norwest  Venture  Partners,  Time  Warner  Investments

MoPub  is  a  mobile  SSP  and  RTB  ad  exchange.  As  of  May  2013,  MoPub  conducts  +2b  ad  auc&ons  each  day  and  reaches  more  than  550m  unique  devices  a  month.    

Employees  &  Status:  59+,  Acquired  by  Twiger Products:  Ad  Serving,  Network  media&on,  MoPub  Marketplace,  Demand-­‐Side  Planorm,  Private  Marketplace,  Rich  Media Investors:  Jafco  Ventures,  Accel  Partners,  Harrison  Metal  Capital,  Iris  Capital  

Nexage  is  a  mobile  SSP  and  private  exchange.  The  company  claims  to  work  with  300+  publishers.  50%  of  ad  spend  through  Nexage  comes  from  DSPs,  40%  from  ad  networks,  and  10%  from  trading  desks.

Employees  &  Status:  85+,  Acquired  by  Millennial  Media Products:  RTB,  Media&on,  Private  Exchange,  Ad  Server,  Nexage  Connect Investors:  GrandBanks  Capital,  Relay  Ventures,  SingTel  Inno8,  Hearst  Ventures

LioDNA  powers  OpenX’s  publisher  SSP  solu&ons.  OpenX  is  RTB  ad  exchange  and  SSP,  ranked  second  behind  Google  in  terms  of  publisher  ad  server  install  base.    

Employees  &  Status:  N/A,  Acquired  by  OpenX Features:  yield  op&miza&on,  cross-­‐device  targe&ng,  transparency Investors:  Ben  Franklin  Technology  Partners,  various  Angel  investors

Notable  SSPs  

Source:  TechCrunch,  AdExchanger,  Inc.,  Businessweek,  SEC,  Linkedin,  Forbes,  Thomvest Note:  All  informa4on  is  publicly  available

Page 15: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

15  

Bluekai  is  a  data  exchange  and  DMP.  Bluekai  has  data  on  +200m  customers  across  10,000  agributes  and  executes  over  18m  data  traders  per  day.  

Employees  &  Status:  139+,  Acquired  by  Oracle Products:  DMP,  Audience  Data  Marketplace,  Mobile  DMP,  Audience  Analy&cs  Suite     Investors:  Redpoint  Ventures,  e.ventures,  Bagery  Ventures,  GGV  Capital  

eXelate  is  an  data  exchange  for  behavioral  targe&ng  data.  eXelate  has  a  700m+  user  database  and  200+  data  partnerships

Employees  &  Status:  100+,  Private Products:    Op&X  (analy&cs),  conneX  (data  sales  infrastructure),  eXchange  (data  marketplace),  maX  (custom  model  service) Investors:  Carmel  Ventures,  Menlo  Ventures,  Trident  Capital,  NewSpring  Capital\\

[X+1]  is  a  DMP  and  DSP,  among  other  marke&ng  sooware  offerings.  

Employees  &  Status:  138+,  Acquired  by  Rockenuel Products:  Origin  Digital  Marke&ng  Hub  planorm  includes  the  Origin  Media  DSP,  Analy&cs,  DMP,  and  site  op&miza&on Investors:  Advanced  Technology  Ventures,  Hudson  Ventures,  Blue  Chip,  Intel  Capital,  Areas  Capital

Aggregate  Knowledge  (AK)  is  a  DMP.  Most  of  AK’s  customers  are  direct  adver&sers  charged  on  a  fixed  fee  and/or  per-­‐impression  basis.  AK  gets  data  from  publishers  and  data  providers  but  does  not  pay  them,  rather  AK  gives  them  visibility  to  adver&sers.  

Employees  &  Status:  63+,  Acquired  by  Neustar Products:    Media  Intelligence  Planorm Investors:  First  Round  Capital,  NSV,  KPCB,  DAG  Ventures,  OVP,  Founda&on  Capital

Lotame  is  a  data  exchange  and  a  DMP.  The  bulk  of  Lotame’s  revenue  comes  is  from  a  license  fee  plus  usage  model.  

Employees  &  Status:  67+,  Private Products:  Crowd  Control  (audience  DMP),  Smart  Data  (audience  targe&ng),  Crowd  Control  Intelligence  (audience  insight)  and  G.O.A.L.  (audience  segment  op&miza&on) Investors:  Bagery  Ventures,  Hillcrest,  Emergence,  Pinnacle  Ventures,  beta  works  

Krux  is  a  DMP  with  a  focus  on  security.    Krux’s  planorm  reaches  more  than  600  million  users  worldwide.  

Employees  &  Status:  90+,  Private Products:  Data  Sentry  &  Krux  Inspector  (security),  SuperTag  &  ADM  (analy&cs  and  management),  Interchange  (data  mone&za&on) Investors:  Accel  Partners,  IDG  Ventures

Notable  DMPs

Source:  TechCrunch,  AdExchanger,  Inc.,  Businessweek,  SEC,  Linkedin,  Forbes,  Thomvest Note:  All  informa4on  is  publicly  available

Page 16: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

16  

Acxiom  collects  data  on  consumers  from  public  filings,  consumer  surveys,  magazine  subscriber  lists,  warrant  cards,  and  more.  The  company  executes  +1  tril.  data  transac&ons  per  week  and  maintains  a  database  of  700  mil.  customers.  

Employees  &  Status:  6,300+,  Public  (ACXM) Business  divisions:  Marke&ng  and  data  services,  IT  infrastructure,  e-­‐mail  fulfillment,  and  outsourced  call-­‐centers      

LiveRamp  enables  ad  targe&ng  based  on  offline  customer  data.  The  company  is  focused  solely  on  data  onboarding.  LiveRamp’s  services  are  mostly  used  by  DSPs  and  DMPs.  

Employees  &  Status:  80+,  Acquired  By  Acxiom Investors:  Ron  Conway,  North  Bridge  Ventures,  SooTech  VC,  Rembrandt,  Founders  Fund,  Felicis  Ventures,  Peter  Thiel,  Jeff  Clavier  

Datalogix  collects  data  on  customers  mainly  from  agreements  with  companies  that  offer  loyalty  cards  or  membership  programs.  The  company  claims  it  holds  data  on  almost  every  U.S.  household  and  more  than  $1  tril.  worth  of  transac&on  data  

Employees  &  Status:  370+,  Private Products:  DLX  Planorm,  DLX  ROI,  DLX  Net  Investors:    General  Catalyst,  Costanoa,  Sequel  VP,  IVP    

Alliance  Data’s  Epsilon  provides  data  management  and  loyalty  marke&ng  services  for  750+  clients.    By  managing  e-­‐mail  lists  for  their  clients  and  mapping  them  to  loyalty  program  data,  Epsilon  has  built  transac&on  profiles  on  130m  households.  

Employees  &  Status:  3800+,  Public  (ADS) Products:    Marke&ng  Data,  Online  Targe&ng,  Agility  Loyalty  (loyalty  programs),    Agility  Harmony  (email),  Aspen  CRM  (automo&ve)

Experian  marke&ng  services  collects  data  from  Hitwise  (IP-­‐based  web  traffic  measurement)  and  CheetahMail  (e-­‐mail  planorm)  along  with  Experian’s  extensive  consumer  credit  databases  that  can  be  used  to  target  customers  online.

Employees  &  Status:  9800+,  Public  (EXPN) Features:  Consumer  insights,  targe&ng,  cross-­‐channel  marke&ng,  data  quality  

Notable  Data  Providers

Neustar  collects  telco  data  that  can  be  used  to  target  customers  offline  and  online.  Notably,  Neustar  acquired  TARGUSinfo  in  2011  for  $650M.  At  the  &me,  TARGUSinfo  was  responsible  for  86%  of  all  U.S.  cable  and  VOIP  caller  ID  subscribers.  

Employees  &  Status:  1400+,  Public  (NSR) Features  (marke&ng  only):    iden&fica&on  &  verifica&on,  customer  acquisi&on,  customer  iden&ty  management,  SMS  messaging  

Source:  TechCrunch,  AdExchanger,  Inc.,  Businessweek,  SEC,  Linkedin,  Forbes,  Thomvest Note:  All  informa4on  is  publicly  available

Page 17: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

17  

Ad  Formats  –  Global

0% 10% 20% 30% 40% 50%

120x600 160x600 180x150 300x250 300x600 468x60 728x90 Other

Display  (%  of  Total  Impressions)

0%

25%

50%

75%

100%

300x50 300x250 320x50 728x90

Mobile  (%  of  Total  Impressions)

0%

25%

50%

75%

15-­‐second  pre-­‐roll

15-­‐second  pre-­‐roll  companion

30-­‐second  pre-­‐roll

30-­‐second  pre-­‐roll  companion

Video  (%  of  Total  Impressions)

Source:  Turn

$0

$1

$2

$3

$4

$5

$6

$7

$8

$9

$10

$11

$12

Display Mobile Video

eCPM  –  Global  Ad  Spend  Jul-­‐Sept.  2013

July August September

Defini&ons

Display:  Ads  that  appear  on  website  on  Desktop,  non  –search  

Mobile:  In-­‐app  and  mobile  web  adver&sements,  includes  sta&c,  interac&ve,  and  video  ads

Video:  Video  adver&sements  that  are  displayed  on  desktop  formats,  non-­‐mobile

Page 18: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

89%

11%

%  of  Desktop  Impressions  Q2’13

Cookie

No  Cookie

18  

Cookie  Prevalence

Source:  Casale  Media  (Index  Exchange)

38%

62%

%  of  Mobile  Impressions  Q2’13

Cookie

No  Cookie

17%

47%

36%

%  of  Impressions  by  Cookie  State  Q2’13

No  Cookie

Cookie  &  3P  Data

Cookie  &  No  3P  Data

27%

31%

41%

1%

Distribu&on  of  Impressions  without  Cookies  Q2’13

Windows  Desktop

Mac  Desktop

Mobile

Other  Desktop

Cookie  tracking  is  highly  prevalent  on  desktop  and  much  less  prevalent  on  mobile.  The  majority  of  impressions  served  with  the  use  of  cookies,  about  half  were  served  with  cookies  and  third-­‐party  data.  

Page 19: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

19  

Bid  Volume  and  Avg.  CPM  (Desktop  &  Mobile) According  to  data  from  Index  Exchange,    there  is  a  moderate  degree  of  consistency  in  bid  volumes  and  avg.  CPMs  across  quarters.  

Travel,  Auto,  and  Telecom  have  the  highest  avg.  CPMs  while  Retail,  Telecom  and  Financial  have  the  largest  bid  volumes.  

0

10

20

30

40

50

60

70

80

90

100

Bid  Volume Avg.  CPM

Top  10  Sectors  by  Bid  Volume  (Indexed),  Q2’13

0

10

20

30

40

50

60

70

80

90

100

Bid  Volume Avg.  CPM

Top  10  Sectors  by  Bid  Volume  (Indexed),  Q1’13

Source:  Casale  Media  (Index  Exchange)

Page 20: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

20  

US  Digital  Display  Ad  Spending

0%

10%

20%

30%

40%

50%

60%

70%

80%

90%

100%

2011 2012 2013 2014 2015

Net  US  Digital  Display  Ad  Revenue  Share

Google

Facebook

Yahoo

Microsoo

Aol

Twiger

Other

Google  and  Facebook  generate  the  largest  por&on  of  US  digital  display  ad  revenue.  Yahoo!  is  expected  to  decline  substan&ally  in  the  coming  years  while  Twiger  con&nues  to  grow  display  revenues  at  nearly  100%  year  over  year.  

$12.3B $23.9B $15B $17.7B $20.73B Total  Revenue:

Source:  eMarketer

Page 21: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

21  

Top  20  Video  Ad  Networks  (ComScore)

0

5,000

10,000

15,000

20,000

25,000

30,000

35,000

40,000

45,000

0

20,000

40,000

60,000

80,000

100,000

120,000

140,000

160,000

180,000

August  2013  -­‐  Top  20  Video  Proper&es  by  Unique  Visitors  (000’s)  -­‐  (Comscore)

Total  Unique  Vieweres Average  Daily  Unique  Viewers  

Source:  ComScore

Total  U

niqu

e  View

ers

Average  Daily  Uniqu

e  View

ers

Page 22: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

22  

Notable  Video  Ad  Tech  Companies

Tremor  is  a  video  ad  network  that  generates  the  majority  of  its  revenue  through  media  sales  of  premium  digital  video  inventory.  

Employees  &  Status:  345+,  Public  (TRMR) Products:  Video  Hub,  Video  Hub  for  Adver&sers  (VHA),  Tremor  Video  Network   Investors:  SV  Angel,  Canaan,  Masthead,  Meritech,  SAP  Ventures,  DFJ,  W  Capital  Partners,  European  Founders  Fund  

TubeMogul  is  a  programma&c  video  ad  SaaS  planorm  that  allows  adver&sers  to  buy  media  from  public  and  private  exchanges,  instead  of  buying  and  reselling  inventory.  

Employees  &  Status:  375+,  Public  (TUBE) Products:  Play&me  Video  Adver&sing,  OneLoad Investors:  Trinity,  Founda&on  Capital,  Knight’s  Bridge,  SingTel,  Northgate  

YuMe  is  a  video  ad  network  that  offers  publisher-­‐  and  agency-­‐side  technologies.  YuMe  is  ooen  used  in  conjunc&on  with  primary  ad  serving  planorms  such  as  DoubleClick  and  Freewheel.   Employees  &  Status:  500+,  Public  (YUME) Products:  Connected  Audience  Network,  Service  Providers,  Publishers   Investors:    SV  Angel,  Accel,  Kholsa,  DAG,  Intel,  Samsung,  Translink,  WestSummit

Videology  is  a  video  DSP  for  RTB  through  exchanges,  including  their  own  exchange.  Videology  generates  revenue  through  arbitrage  of  guaranteed  inventory.

Employees  &  Status:  320+,  Private   Technology:  Ad  decisioning,  advanced  targe&ng,  repor&ng  &  analy&cs   Investors:  NEA,  Valhalla,  Comcast,  Pinnacle

Adap.tv  provides  programma&c  exchange  technology  to  adver&sers  and  publishers.  Adapt.tv  does  not  sell  media  but  rather  takes  a  cut  of  transac&ons.  Adap.tv  offers  premium  inventory  via  private  exchanges

Employees  &  Status:  300+,  Acquired  by  AOL Products:  Pathway  Planorm,  Marketplace Investors:  Gemini  Israel,  Redpoint,  BVP,  Spark  Capital

BrightRoll  is  a  programma&c  video  ad  network  and  private  &  public  exchange.  According  to  comScore,  BrightRoll  is  second  to  Google  (Youtube)  in  terms  of  unique  visitors.  

Employees  &  Status:  425+,  Private Products:  Brightroll  Exchange  (BRX),  BRIQ  (ad  buying),  Targe&ng,  Op&miza&on  Engine Investors:  True  Ventures,  Adam  Street  Partners,  Scale  VP,  KPG,  Comerica,  Trident  Capital,  Felicis  Ventures

Premium  brand  network,  scager,  non-­‐programma&c  

Performance  brand  network,  scager,  programma&c

Video  DSP,  programma+c

Video  DSP  for  RTB,  video  ad  exchange

Video  DSP,  private  and  public  exchange,  programma+c

Video  ad  market,  private  and  public  exchange,  programma&c

Source:  TechCrunch,  AdExchanger,  Inc.,  Businessweek,  SEC,  Linkedin,  Forbes,  Thomvest Note:  All  informa4on  is  publicly  available

Page 23: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

23  

Mobile  eCPMs  

$0.00

$0.20

$0.40

$0.60

$0.80

$1.00

May-­‐12 Jun-­‐12 Jul-­‐12 Aug-­‐12 Sep-­‐12 Oct-­‐12 Nov-­‐12 Dec-­‐12 Jan-­‐13 Feb-­‐13 Mar-­‐13 Apr-­‐13 May-­‐13 Jun-­‐13 Jul-­‐13 Aug-­‐13 Sep-­‐13

MoPub  Marketplace  eCPM  (Banner  +  Inters&&als)  

0

2

4

6

8

Q1  '13 Q2  '13 Jul-­‐13 Aug-­‐13 Sep-­‐13

Compe&&ve  Factor  (Avg.  Bids  Per  Auc&on  Won)

According  to  MoPub,  eCPMs  and  bidding  compe&&on  are  rising  for  mobile  adver&sing  formats.  Furthermore,  iOS  consistently  provides  higher  eCPMs  than  Android.        

Source:  MoPub

$0.00

$0.20

$0.40

$0.60

$0.80

$1.00

$1.20

iOS  vs.  Android  eCPM

iOS Android

Page 24: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

24  

Mobile  Ad  Network  Landscape

Source:  Mobyaffiliates,  MobiThinking,  Kargo,  Thomvest  Research

Mobile  Exchanges

Mobile  Ad  Networks

Demand  Side  Planorms

Ad  Servers  &  Supply  Side  Planorm  

Rewards  Networks

Rich  Media  and  Video  Networks  

Premium  Mobile  Ad  Network

Local  Mobile  Networks

Cross  Promo&on  Networks Data  Partners

CPA  Ad  Networks

Acquired

Page 25: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

Brands  &  Agencies

25  

Page 26: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

26  

Top  10  Adver&sers  by  Ad  Spend

$0    

$1,000    

$2,000    

$3,000    

$4,000    

$5,000    

$6,000    

INTERNET  DISPLAY  

RADIO  

TV  

OUTDOOR  

NEWSP.  

MAGAZINES  

UNMEASURED  

Aoer  many  years  of  growth,  top  adver&sers’  ‘Internet’  spend  remained  consistent  at  9%  between  2011-­‐12 Note:  this  figure  includes  display  only  (excluding  search,  video  and  mobile  channels)  

Source:  AdAge

Top  Adver&sers  by  Ad  Spend  in  2012  ($MM)

Page 27: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

27  

Digital  vs.  Analog  %  of  Spend

0% 10% 20% 30% 40% 50% 60% 70% 80% 90% 100%

Fast  Moving  Consumer  Goods

Retail

Healthcare

Auto

Leisure/Luxury/Energy

TMT

Financial  Services

Publicis  Clients’  %  of  Spend  to  Digital/IP  vs.  Analog  By  Industry  Ver&cal

Digital/IP Analog

Source:  Publicis  Groupe

Page 28: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

28  

Top  15  Agencies  Holding  Co.'s  by  Revenue

$0

$2,000

$4,000

$6,000

$8,000

$10,000

$12,000

$14,000

$16,000

$18,000

WPP Omnicom  Group

Publicis  Groupe

Interpublic  Group  of  Cos.

Dentsu  Inc.*  1

Havas Hakuhodo  DY  

Holdings*

Alliance  Data  

Systems  Corp.'s  

Epsilon*  2

MDC  Partners

Experian's  Experian  Marke&ng  Services

Acxiom  Corp.

Sapient  Corp.'s  

SapientNitro

IBM  Corp.'s  IBM  

Interac&ve*

DJE  Holdings  3

Cheil  Worldwide

Top  15  Agency  Holding  Co.  Ranked  by    2012  Revenue    ($M)

Worldwide US

1.  Es&mated  pro  forma  revenue  including  Aegis  Group  (acquired  in  March  2013)  and  Roundarch  (acquired  by  Aegis  in  March  2012).  2.  Es&mated  pro  forma  revenue  including  Hyper  Marke&ng  (acquired  in  November  2012)  and  Aspen  Marke&ng  Services  (acquired  in  May  2011).  3.  Owns  Edelman.ca

Source:  AdAge  DataCenter

Top  10  agency  holding  companies  generate  42%  of  the  worldwide  and  42%  of  the  US  revenues  of  the  top  50  agency  holding  companies.  Overall,  revenues  grew  4.5%  worldwide  and  5.3%  in  the  US.  

Page 29: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

29  

Agency  Revenue  Composi&on

CRM  ,  35%

PR,  10% Specialty,  10%

Media  Buying,  15%

Crea&ve,  30%

Adver&sing  45%

Marke&n

g  Services  55%

Source:  AdAge,  J.P.  Morgan

Agency  Discipline 2012  Revenue

Growth  Rate  (vs.  2011)  

Digital  (From  All  Disciplines) $11.6B 6.9%

Adver&sing   $11B 4.8%

CRM/Direct $6.6B 3.6%

Public  Rela&ons $3.9B 5.6%

Health  Care $3.6B 2.1%

Media $3.3B 7.4%

Promo&on $2.9B 9.2%

U.S.  Agency  Revenue  by  Category  –  Ad  Age Est.  Agency  Revenue  Breakdown  –  J.P.  Morgan

Page 30: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

30  

Top  5  Agencies  Worldwide  by  Category  

Source:  AdAge  DataCenter,  2013

$0  

$500  

$1,000  

$1,500  

$2,000  

$2,500  

$3,000  

Dentsu  [Dentsu] BBDO  Worldwide*  [Omnicom]

McCann  Erickson  Worldwide  [Interpublic]

Hakuhodo  [Hakuhodo  DY  Holdings]

DDB  Worldwide  [Omnicom]

Agencies  by  2012  Wordwide  Revenue  ($M)

$0  

$200  

$400  

$600  

$800  

$1,000  

$1,200  

$1,400  

Epsilon  [  Alliance  Data  Systems]

Wunderman  [WPP]

Experian  Marke&ng  Services  (Experian)

Acxiom  Corp. DigitasLBi  [Publicis]

CRM/Direct-­‐Marke&ng  Networks  by  2012  Worldwide  Rev.  ($M)

$0  

$200  

$400  

$600  

$800  

$1,000  

$1,200  

Wunderman  [WPP]

Digital@Ogilvy  [WPP]

DigitasLBi  [Publicis]

SapientNitro  [Sapient  Corp.]

IBM  Interac&ve  [IBM  Corp.]

Digital  Agency  Networks  by  2012  Worldwide  Revenue  ($M)

$0  

$200  

$400  

$600  

$800  

$1,000  

$1,200  

Starcon  MediaVest  [Publicis]

OMD  Worldwide  [Omnicom]

Mindshare  Worldwide  [WPP]

Carat  [Dentsu] ZenithOp&media  [Publicis]

Media  Agencies  by  2012  Worldwide  Revenue  ($M)

Page 31: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

31  

Top  5  US  Agencies  by  Category  

Source:  AdAge  DataCenter,  2013

$0  

$20,000  

$40,000  

$60,000  

$80,000  

$100,000  

$120,000  

iCrossing  [Hearst  Corp]

360i  [Dentsu] iProspect  [Dentsu]

Pla�orm  Adver&sing

Performics  [Publicis]

US  Search-­‐Marke&ng  Agencies  by  2012  Revenue  (000’s)

$0  

$10,000  

$20,000  

$30,000  

$40,000  

$50,000  

$60,000  

Wunderman  [WPP]

SapientNitro  [Sapient  Corp.]

Deloige  Digital  [Deloige  Touche  

Tohmatsu]

Razorfish  [Publicis]

Ogilvy  &  Mather  Adver&sing  [WPP]

US  Mobile-­‐Marke&ng  Agencies  by  2012  Revenue  (000’s)

$0  

$20,000  

$40,000  

$60,000  

$80,000  

$100,000  

$120,000  

$140,000  

$160,000  

George  P.  Johnson  [Project  WorldWide]

GMR  Marke&ng  [Omnicom]

Jack  Morton  Worldwide  [Interpublic]

Derse Team  Enteprises  [MDC  Partners]

US  Experien&al/Event-­‐Marke&ng  Agencies  by  2012  Rev.  (000’s)

$0  

$20,000  

$40,000  

$60,000  

$80,000  

$100,000  

$120,000  

$140,000  

$160,000  

$180,000  

Integer  Group  [Omnicom]

MarketStar  [Omnicom]

George  P.  Johnson  [Project  WorldWide]

Momentum  Worldwide  [Interpublic]

GMR  Marke&ng  [Omnicom]

US  Promo&on  Agencies  by  2012  Revenue  (000’s)

Page 32: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

32  

Agency  Holding  Company  Structure  

Source:  BMO  Capital  Markets  

Adver&sing Marke&ng  Services Key  Clients

Major:  JWT,  Ogilvy  &  Mather,  Y&R,  Grey

Other:  United  Group,  Bates  Asia,  CHI,  Tapsa

Media  Buying:  GroupM  (Mediaedge:cia,  Mindshare,MediaCom,  Maxus)

CRM/Direct:  Wunderman,  OgilvyOne,  141  Worldwide,  G2,  24/7  Real  Media

PR:  Hill  &  Knowlton,  Burson-­‐Marsteller,  Ogilvy  Public  Rela&ons,  Cohn  &  Wolfe

Market  Research/Other:  Kantar  Group,  CommonHealth,  Landor

Ford,  Unilever,  P&G,  Microsoo,  Dell,  J&J,  Colgate,  Nestle,  GSK,  BP,  Allianz,  Pfizer,  IBM,  HSBC

Adver&sing Marke&ng  Services Key  Clients

Global  Adver&sing  Network:  BBDO,  BBD,  TBWA

Other:  Goodby  Silverstein,  GSD&M,  Merkley  +  Partners

Media  Planning  and  Buying:  OMD,  PHD,  Prometheus

Direct  marke&ng  and  digital:  Rapp

Promo&on  and  events:  Integer  

PR:  Fleishman-­‐Hillard  

McDonald’s,  Pepsi,  Nissan,  AT&T,  Hewleg-­‐Packard,  Johnson  &  Johnson,  Chevrolet,  Mars

Adver&sing Marke&ng  Services Key  Clients

Global  Adver&sing  Network:  McCann  Erickson,  Draofcb,  Lowe  +  Partners  

Other:  Compbell-­‐Ewald,  Hill  Holiday,  Gotham

Media  Planning  and  Buying:  Universal  McCann,  Ini&a&ve

Interac&ve:  R/GA,  MRM  Worldwide

Draofcb,  Jack  Morton,  Weber  Shandwick

General  Motors,  Johnson  &  Johnson,  Microsoo,  Mastercard,  P&G,  Verizon,  Unilever,  Coca-­‐Cola

Adver&sing Marke&ng  Services Key  Clients

Major:  Publicis  WW,  Saatchi  &  Saatchi,  Leo  Burneg  

Other:  Fallon  Worldwide,  Kaplan  Thaler,  Bartle  Bogle  Hegarty

Media  Buying:  Publicis  Groupe  Media,  Zenith  Op&media,  Starcom  MediaVest

CRM/Direct:  Digitas,  ARC  Worldwide,  Razorfish,  Rosega

PR:  Manning,  Selvage  &  Lee

Other:  Publicis  Healthcare  Group,  Bromley,  iSE

P&G,  Toyota,  Ferrero,  Coca-­‐Cola,  General  Mills,  Disney,  Nestle,  Sanofi-­‐Aven&s,  L’Oreal,  Carrefour  

Page 33: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

33  

Agency  Trading  Desks Holding  Company

Source:  BMO  Capital  Markets,  Thomvest  Research  

Media  Group Agency  Trading  

Desk Other  Tech-­‐Focused  Specialty  Agencies

Relevant  IPG  Umbrella  Agencies:  Universal  McCann,  Ini&a&ve  

•  Reprise  Media  –  SEO,  SEM,  SMM  and  custom  solu&ons •  Ansible  –  Full-­‐service  mobile  marke&ng  agency;  crea&ve,  strategy,  analy&cs,  texts,  QR  codes •  Geomentum  –  Hyper-­‐local  marke&ng  and  media  strategy   •  Shopper  Sciences  –  Full-­‐service  shopper  marke&ng  consultancy •  IPG  Media  Lab  –  New  product  analysis  and  development,  planorm  resource  

Relevant  WPP  Umbrella  Agencies:  GroupM  (Mindshare,  MEC,  MediaCom,  Maxus)

•  24/7  Media  –  Digital  ad  management  planorm  for  adver&sers  and  publishers.  SSP  is  called  Open  AdStream.  24/7  provides  ad  network  and  analy&cs

•  Media  Innova&on  Group  –  Develops  new  technology  for  acquiring,  op&mizing  and  measure  digital  media

•  GroupM  Next  –  Research  agency  focused  on  online,  search,  social,  mobile  and  emerging  markets

Relevant  Omnicom  Umbrella  Agencies:  Omnicom  Media  Group,  PHD,  OMD

•  Annalect  –  Data  and  analy&cs  driven  marke&ng  technology  planorm.  Used  by  nearly  all  of  Omnicom’s  media  planning  and  buying  clients  to  build  insights  and  dash  boards.  Includes  the  following:

•  Resolu&on  Media  –  Behavior,  search,  social  media,  mobile  and  display  marke&ng   •  BrandScience  –  Business  and  marke&ng  consultancy,  econometrics  

•  TargetBase  –  Database  marke&ng  agency,  provides  crea&ve,  analy&cs,  tech,  strategy •  Promoetheus  –  Spun  off  from  OMD  in  2005,  focused  on  ROI  and  accountable  media

Relevant  Publicis  Umbrella  Agencies:  Vivaki  (Starcom  MediaVest,  ZenithOp&media)

•  Digitas  –  Number  one  digital  agency  in  the  US  by  revenue •  Razorfish  –  All  aspects  of  digital  campaigns  from  crea&ve  to  ad  buying  across  channels •  Big  Fuel  –  Social  marke&ng  agency •  CRM365  –  Social/mobile  data-­‐lead  offering   •  Performics  –  SEO  and  SMO  services   •  Vivaki  Nerve  Center  –  Used  by  en&re  Vivaki  network;  tests  new  technologies,  tracking,  bid  management,  data  partnerships,  analy&cs  

Page 34: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

Investments  and  Exits

34  

Page 35: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

35  

Global  VC  Investment  in  Ad  Tech

Source:  Crunchbase,  Pitchbook  Data  

74

105

159

193

157

201

222

237

217

139

0

50

100

150

200

250

$0

$500

$1,000

$1,500

$2,000

$2,500

2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014

Total  Capital  Invested  ($M) Deal  Count

Venture  capital  investment  in  adver&sing  technology  reached  an  all-­‐&me  high  in  2011.  VC  investment  in  ad  tech  declined  in  2013  as  compared  to  2012  and  2011.

Ad  Tech  VC  Deal  Count  and  Amount  Raised  2005-­‐2014  ($MM)

Page 36: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

36  

Recent  US  VC  Financings  in  Ad  Tech

Source:  Pitchbook  Data  

Company Deal  Date Deal  Size Raised  to  Date VC  Round HQ  Loca&on Adjust 08-­‐Sep-­‐2014 7.60 11.90 4th  Round Berlin,  Germany

BlueCava 04-­‐Sep-­‐2014 1.50 36.87 6th  Round Irvine,  CA

Netser&ve 04-­‐Sep-­‐2014 3.00 21.27 3rd  Round Morrisville,  NC

xAd 04-­‐Sep-­‐2014 50.00 92.19 7th  Round New  York,  NY

Adinch 03-­‐Sep-­‐2014 3.00 4.00 2nd  Round San  Francisco,  CA

Verve  Mobile 26-­‐Aug-­‐2014 4.10 41.57 7th  Round Carlsbad,  CA

Datanyze 25-­‐Aug-­‐2014 2.00 2.00 1st  Round San  Mateo,  CA

AdStage 13-­‐Aug-­‐2014 6.25 8.78 4th  Round San  Francisco,  CA

Adello 12-­‐Aug-­‐2014 2.00 2.00 1st  Round Redwood  City,  CA

EverString 12-­‐Aug-­‐2014 12.00 12.00 2nd  Round San  Mateo,  CA

Windsor  Circle 12-­‐Aug-­‐2014 5.25 7.69 4th  Round Durham,  NC

July  Systems 08-­‐Aug-­‐2014 3.25 58.18 7th  Round Burlingame,  CA

JoopLoop 07-­‐Aug-­‐2014 0.03 0.03 1st  Round Hoboken,  NJ

VentureBeat 07-­‐Aug-­‐2014 3.28 3.64 2nd  Round San  Francisco,  CA

Reten&on  Science 05-­‐Aug-­‐2014 7.00 9.05 3rd  Round Santa  Monica,  CA

Smaato 05-­‐Aug-­‐2014 25.00 47.00 4th  Round San  Francisco,  CA

ADmantX 31-­‐Jul-­‐2014 2.40 6.60 3rd  Round West  Harnord,  VT

Ds&llery 30-­‐Jul-­‐2014 24.32 56.00 3rd  Round New  York,  NY

Kixer 29-­‐Jul-­‐2014 1.00 1.00 1st  Round Los  Angeles,  CA

Mobile  Ac&on 23-­‐Jul-­‐2014 0.81 0.81 1st  Round San  Francisco,  CA

SmartZip  Analy&cs 23-­‐Jul-­‐2014 12.00 23.05 3rd  Round Pleasanton,  CA

Glow  Digital  Media 22-­‐Jul-­‐2014 7.00 8.30 2nd  Round London,  United  Kingdom

Intent  Media 21-­‐Jul-­‐2014 22.70 50.99 3rd  Round New  York,  NY

Supersonic 21-­‐Jul-­‐2014 15.00 23.20 3rd  Round San  Bruno,  CA

Monetology 18-­‐Jul-­‐2014 1.50 1.50 1st  Round Atlanta,  GA

Page 37: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

37  

Recent  US  VC  Financings  in  Ad  Tech  Cont.

Source:  Pitchbook  Data  

Company Deal  Date Deal  Size Raised  to  Date VC  Round HQ  Loca&on Capillary  Technologies 17-­‐Jul-­‐2014 14.00 35.60 4th  Round Bangalore,  India

Locket 17-­‐Jul-­‐2014 0.02 0.52 3rd  Round New  York,  NY

AdAdapted 11-­‐Jul-­‐2014 0.75   1st  Round Ann  Arbor,  MI

Ohana  Companies 11-­‐Jul-­‐2014 0.79 15.91 5th  Round Wilmington,  DE

Tapad 30-­‐Jun-­‐2014 7.00 16.80 5th  Round New  York,  NY

BrightFunnel 29-­‐Jun-­‐2014   1.00 1st  Round San  Francisco,  CA

App  Annie 27-­‐Jun-­‐2014 17.00 39.00 4th  Round Beijing,  China

ContextLogic 27-­‐Jun-­‐2014 50.00 74.70 4th  Round San  Francisco,  CA

LiquidM 27-­‐Jun-­‐2014 3.67 5.45 2nd  Round San  Francisco,  CA

White  Ops 24-­‐Jun-­‐2014 11.09 11.09 1st  Round New  York,  NY

OwnerIQ 20-­‐Jun-­‐2014 11.00 39.36 6th  Round Boston,  MA

TapFwd 19-­‐Jun-­‐2014 0.15 0.15 1st  Round San  Francisco,  CA

Appier 18-­‐Jun-­‐2014 6.00 7.00 2nd  Round Taipei,  Taiwan

Pixability 18-­‐Jun-­‐2014 1.80 10.97 4th  Round Boston,  MA

Rhiza 17-­‐Jun-­‐2014 3.00 3.00 1st  Round Pigsburgh,  PA

Wayin 17-­‐Jun-­‐2014 13.10 34.24 2nd  Round Denver,  CO

LaunchHub 16-­‐Jun-­‐2014 1.83 1.83 1st  Round Redwood  City,  CA

mNectar 16-­‐Jun-­‐2014 7.00 7.08 1st  Round San  Francisco,  CA

BrightRoll 13-­‐Jun-­‐2014 1.24 37.52 5th  Round San  Francisco,  CA

Snipi 12-­‐Jun-­‐2014 3.10 7.42 3rd  Round Philadelphia,  PA

Placed 10-­‐Jun-­‐2014 10.00 13.40 3rd  Round Seagle,  WA

Yieldbot 05-­‐Jun-­‐2014 18.00 30.35 4th  Round New  York,  NY

Yext 04-­‐Jun-­‐2014 50.25 116.44 7th  Round New  York,  NY

Free  ATM 03-­‐Jun-­‐2014 0.75 1.09 3rd  Round Brooklyn,  NY

MediaMath 03-­‐Jun-­‐2014 176.00 222.92 7th  Round New  York,  NY

BlueConic 28-­‐May-­‐2014 4.00 8.00 3rd  Round Boston,  MA

Datalogix 28-­‐May-­‐2014 45.25 91.97 6th  Round Westminster,  CO

Page 38: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

38  

Global  Ad  Tech  M&A  Ac&vity

Source:  Pitchbook  Data  

Note:  Transac&on  amounts  do  not  encompass  every  recorded  deal;  some  private  market  acquisi&ons  are  not  disclosed.  However,  deal  count  encompasses  disclosed  and  undisclosed  transac&ons.  

Global  Ad  Tech  M&A  Ac&vity  by  Deal  Count  (2008-­‐2013)

24

20

34 35

46

39 42

2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014

Page 39: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

39  

Recent  Ad  Tech  M&A  Ac&vity

Source:  Pitchbook  Data  

Company Deal  Date Deal  Size Total  Raised Acquirer HQ  Loca&on [x+1] 05-­‐Sep-­‐2014 230.00 67.78 Rocket  Fuel New  York,  NY

Luminate 05-­‐Sep-­‐2014   30.00 Yahoo Mountain  View,  CA

InsightExpress 26-­‐Aug-­‐2014   25.00 Milward  Brown Stamford,  CT

adSage 21-­‐Aug-­‐2014 100.00 20.00 BesTV Beijing,  China

LiveRail 15-­‐Aug-­‐2014 500.00 5.00 Facebook San  Francisco,  CA

OnSwipe 05-­‐Aug-­‐2014   19.40 Beanstock  Media New  York,  NY

BlueKai 23-­‐Jul-­‐2014 425.00 37.49 Oracle Cuper&no,  CA

Grow  Mobile 16-­‐Jul-­‐2014 42.00 1.00 Perion San  Francisco,  CA

Zoove 14-­‐Jul-­‐2014   67.87 Mblox Palo  Alto,  CA

LiveRamp 01-­‐Jul-­‐2014 310.00 32.00 Acxiom San  Francisco,  CA

Jirbo 24-­‐Jun-­‐2014 350.00 2.00 Opera  Sooware Los  Angeles,  CA

mDialog 19-­‐Jun-­‐2014   8.15 Google Toronto,  Canada

Kontera 11-­‐Jun-­‐2014 150.00 36.16 SingTel San  Francisco,  CA

Namo  Media 05-­‐Jun-­‐2014 50.00 1.90 Twiger San  Francisco,  CA

NowSpots 02-­‐Jun-­‐2014 25.50 1.10 Marin  Sooware Chicago,  IL

Dis&mo 28-­‐May-­‐2014   1.00 App  Annie Utrecht,  Netherlands

MarketVibe 21-­‐May-­‐2014     OwnLocal Aus&n,  TX

PrecisionDemand 21-­‐May-­‐2014   16.72 Adap.tv Seagle,  WA

Mocean  Mobile 19-­‐May-­‐2014 15.50 46.59 PubMa&c New  York,  NY

Convertro 07-­‐May-­‐2014 91.00 10.25 AOL Santa  Monica,  CA

Adometry 06-­‐May-­‐2014   30.61 Google Aus&n,  TX

Adchemy 05-­‐May-­‐2014   119.22 WalmartLabs Foster  City,  CA

AcuityAds 25-­‐Apr-­‐2014   5.75 Wildlaw  Capital Toronto,  Canada

Korrelate 23-­‐Apr-­‐2014   9.55 JD  Power New  York,  NY

Page 40: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

40  

Global  Ad  Tech  IPO  Ac&vity

Source:  Pitchbook  Data  

2013  was  a  breakout  year  for  ad  tech  IPOs  with  five  companies  raising  a  combined  ~$630M  from  public  markets.  Several  more  adver&sing  technology  companies  are  expected  to  IPO  in  2014.

Note:  Transac&on  amounts  do  not  encompass  every  recorded  deal;  some  private  market  acquisi&ons  are  not  disclosed.  However,  deal  count  encompasses  disclosed  and  undisclosed  transac&ons.  

Global  Ad  Tech  IPO  Ac&vity  (2009-­‐2013)

0

1

0

1

5

0.0  

1.0  

2.0  

3.0  

4.0  

5.0  

6.0  

$0  

$100  

$200  

$300  

$400  

$500  

$600  

$700  

2009   2010   2011   2012   2013  

IPO  Transac+on  ($M)   IPO  Deal  Count  

Company Date Amount  Raised  ($M)

Criteo  (CRTO) 29-­‐Oct-­‐2013 288.10

Rocket  Fuel  (FUEL) 20-­‐Sep-­‐2013 116.00

YuMe  (YUME) 06-­‐Aug-­‐2013 46.13

Tremor  Video  (TRMR) 28-­‐Jun-­‐2013 75.00

Marin  Sooware  (MRIN) 22-­‐Mar-­‐2013 105.00

Millennial  Media  (MM) 29-­‐Mar-­‐2012 132.60

MediaMind  Technologies  (MDMD)  –  Acquired  by  Digital  Genera&on

11-­‐Aug-­‐2010 57.50

Page 41: Thomvest Advertising Technology overview - Sept 2014

41

Thank  you

Don  Butler [email protected]

Andrew  Tweed [email protected]

Daphne  Ewing-­‐Chow [email protected]

A  special  thanks  to  Eric  Liu  and  Natasha  Osborne  for  their  contribu&ons  to  the  research

203  Redwood  Shores  Parkway   Suite  680 Redwood  City,  CA  94065