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CONFIDENTIAL
Rajesh Koppula * Francesco Pagliarello * Vippy Wong * Paul Niemczyk * Alexis Kwong Alvarez
LEAN LAUNCHPAD
Unleash the Freedom * Save for the Future * Invest with Impact
A social cause peer-to-peer lending platform that matches indebted, underprivileged consumers with investors to help them pay off their credit card debt
Day 1 Day 2 Day 3 Day 4 Total
Customers Interviewed
16 15 12 (customer) 1 (partner)
3 (customer)2 (partners)1 (channel)
50
EMBA Global AE EMBA Global AE EMBA Global Asia EMBA NY EMBA Global Asia
Borrowers
• Loan Amount - <$500 to $10,000+
• Credit Type – Underserved, Poor, Fair, Good, Excellent
• Social Segment – Location, Profession, Education, Age, School, Groups & Associations.
• Develop/Manage Platform
• Promotion & Marketing
• Risk Management
• Reporting
• Borrower/Investor Analytic & Education Tools(Later Stage)
Borrowers
1. Social/Affinity groups to help them get out of Consumer Debt.
2. Debt Education and Money saving tools (Later on)
• Credit Bureaus , Banks, Trust Accounts
• Internet Search Engines
• Investment Funds
• Regulatory bodies – SEC, OCC, etc
• Fixed : Development and Launching Costs , Infrastructure , Accounting systems, Trust Accounts, Legal & Marketing
• Variable : Customer Data Costs , Investment, Reporting, Recovery, Marketing , Operations , Legal & Compliance.
• Percent of Loan Amount
• Margin on Returns
• Subscription Fee
• Pay-per-use
• Referrals/Affiliate revenue
1. Social Media & Groups
2. Blogs
3. Direct Marketing
4. Affiliate Marketing
• Physical :IT Infrastructure-Servers, Software, Datawarehouses , Office & equipment
• Intellectual : Brand, Proprietary Knowledge, Patents and Copyrights, Customer database
• Human resources – Risk, Technology, Marketing, Operations, Legal & Compliance
1
3
4 2
Relationship with Borrowers, Investors and Partners.
5
67
8
9
Investors
1. Social/Affinity groups to help their network come out of Debt
2. ROI or Impact Investment opportunities
BUSINESS CANVAS – DAY 1
Investors• Investor Type – Individual,
Institutional
• Return Type – Impact, Maximum Yield
• Social Segment –
Location, Profession, Education, Age, Alumni, Groups & Associations.
• Investment Amount - $500 $10,000+
CONFIDENTIAL
Hypothesis 1: Affinity GroupsHypothesis Experiment Result
People will want to help others in their social or affinity groups (e.g. university alums) come out of credit card debt
• Interviewed people around the Columbia University area
• Mixed result in borrowing / investing within a network
• Focus on underprivileged segment
Special affinity amongst ethnic communities
• Interviewed people in ethnic areas such as China Town and Little Italy
• Phone interviews with Indian and Russian communities
• Yes• Mixed on required returns
Hypothesis 2: Social InvestmentHypothesis Experiment Result
Investors will be willing to help underprivileged borrowers come out of debt as a type of social investment, for lower yields than market rates
Found socially minded people and asked if they would accept lower yields
Yes
Hypothesis 3: Yield ChasersHypothesis Experiment Result
Yield investors would be willing to accept a lower return for a social cause
Interviewed people on Wall Street No!
Hypothesis 4: Demand from BorrowersHypothesis Experiment Result
Underprivileged borrowers know they can refinance their credit cards at another rate
• Interviews in Harlem • 66% knew refinancing is an option
• 42% said they would go to a bank
• 50% would go to a website if they trusted it and a higher percentage would go if the rate was significantly lower
Hypothesis 5: Marketing ChannelsHypothesis Experiment Result
Is internet a viable option for reaching target borrowers?
Interviewed people in Harlem Internet is a viable option; 50% said they would use the internet. Some suggested direct mail.
Non profits are a possible channel Discussion with Robin Hood Foundation
Yes but need to speak with more non profits to verify
Customer Archetypes - Borrowers
Customer “Story”
a) Tom c) John
<$35,000 family income Upper middle class with life problem
2 kids Radiologist
Shop at Target and JC Penney Middle age
Drives a Chevy or used Honda Has a child with cerebral palsy
No college education Recently lost his job
b) Jane Slipping on payments
Single mom with 1-2 kids
No college education
JohnTom
Jane
Nathan ?
Social CauseLowHigh
Economics of the Business Model
– Average CAC for bank to acquire credit card customer: $30-$80
– Using AdWords of CPC = $1 and assuming conversion = 1%, CAC = $100
– Underprivileged customers loan size range $500-$3,000 Average loan size of $1,750
– Spread & revenue per average loan 5% = $87 revenue per loan
– Currently not considering cross-sell or up-sell opportunity to borrowers
• LTV = one-time sale to borrower
Revenue $87 $1,750 avg loan size, 5% spread
CAC $100 To achieve gross profit of 30%
Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC) for AdWords
– CAC for Borrowers• Assumption: $100 CAC for AdWords; $198
CAC for Direct Mail• Avg CAC: (100+198)/2 = $149
– CAC for Investors• Assumption: $100 for AdWords
– Total CAC: $249
– If want to cover CAC in 12 months, we need to generate revenue $249 per year!
– Assume loan duration is 3 years: $249*3 = $747– Total Loan Size, assuming a 5% spread
• $747 / 5% = $14,940• Problem: Above non-prime
Total CACs (AdWords and Direct Mail)
Borrowers• U.S. underprivileged
borrowers with low income, challenging stories and high debt-to-income ratios
• Loan Amount - <$500 to $10,000+
• Credit Type – Underserved, Poor, Fair, Good, Excellent
• Social Segment – Location, Profession, Education, Age, School, Groups & Associations
• Develop/Manage Platform
• Promotion & Marketing
• Risk Management
• Reporting
• Borrower/Investor Analytic & Education Tools(Later Stage)
Borrowers
1. Social/Affinity groups to Underprivileged borrowers receive help from investors who perceive a social cause to get them out of Consumer Credit Card Debt
2. Debt Education and Money saving tools (Later on)
• Non-profits• Universities (focus on
Columbia)• Philanthropy
organizations• Credit Bureaus, Banks,
Trust Accounts• Internet Search Engines• Investment Funds• Regulatory bodies –
SEC, OCC, Consumer Protection Agency
• Fixed : Development and Launching Costs , Infrastructure , Accounting systems, Trust Accounts, Legal & Marketing
• Variable : Customer Data Costs , Investment, Reporting, Recovery, Marketing , Operations , Legal & Compliance.
• Percent of Loan Amount
• Margin on Returns
• Subscription Fee
• Pay-per-use
• Referrals/Affiliate revenue
1. Direct Marketing2. Non-profit organizations3. Dedicated e-commerce4. Point of sale5. Social Media & Groups6. Blogs7. Affiliate Marketing
• Physical :IT Infrastructure-Servers, Software, Datawarehouses , Office & equipment
• Intellectual : Brand, Proprietary Knowledge, Patents and Copyrights, Customer database
• Human resources – Risk, Technology, Marketing, Operations, Legal & Compliance
1
3
2
5
67
8
9
Investors
1. Social/Affinity groups Give investors an opportunity to pursue a social cause by helping underprivileged borrowers to help their network come out of Debt
2. Reasonable ROI or Impact Investment opportunities
BUSINESS CANVAS – DAY 2
Investors• Male and female college-
educated investors seeking a social investment cause
• Columbia alums, universities
• Investor Type – Individuals, Institutional Corporations focused on Corporate Social Responsibility
• Support from Columbia University
• Return Type – Impact, Maximum Yield
• Social Segment – Location, Profession, Education, Age, Alumni, Groups & Associations.
• Investment Amount Individuals - <$500 (until trust proven)
CONFIDENTIAL
Relationship with Borrowers, Investors and Partners.
Borrowers• Public transportation ads• Direct mail• Workshops through
community centers, churches, non’-profits, booths
4
Investors• Internet marketing• Direct mail• Philanthropy partner
events
Borrowers• U.S. underprivileged
borrowers with low income, challenging stories and high debt-to-income ratios
• Loan Amount - <$500 to $10,000+
• Credit Type – Underserved, Poor, Fair, Good, Excellent
• Social Segment – Location, Profession, Education, Age, School, Groups & Associations
• Develop/Manage Platform
• Promotion & Marketing
• Risk Management
• Reporting
• Borrower/Investor Analytic & Education Tools(Later Stage)
Borrowers
1. Social/Affinity groups to Underprivileged borrowers receive help from investors who perceive a social cause to get them out of Consumer Credit Card Debt
2. Debt Education and Money saving tools (Later on)
• Non-profits• Universities (focus on
Columbia)• Philanthropy
organizations• Credit Bureaus, Banks,
Trust Accounts• Internet Search Engines• Investment Funds• Regulatory bodies –
SEC, OCC, Consumer Protection Agency
• Fixed : Development and Launching Costs , Infrastructure , Accounting systems, Trust Accounts, Legal & Marketing
• Variable : Customer Data Costs , Investment, Reporting, Recovery, Marketing , Operations , Legal & Compliance.
• Percent of Loan Amount
• Margin on Returns
• Subscription Fee
• Pay-per-use
• Referrals/Affiliate revenue
1. Direct Marketing2. Non-profit organizations3. Dedicated e-commerce4. Point of sale5. Social Media & Groups6. Blogs7. Affiliate Marketing
• Physical :IT Infrastructure-Servers, Software, Datawarehouses , Office & equipment
• Intellectual : Brand, Proprietary Knowledge, Patents and Copyrights, Customer database
• Human resources – Risk, Technology, Marketing, Operations, Legal & Compliance
1
3
2
5
67
8
9
Investors
1. Social/Affinity groups Give investors an opportunity to pursue a social cause by helping underprivileged borrowers to help their network come out of Debt
2. Reasonable ROI or Impact Investment opportunities
BUSINESS CANVAS – DAY 3
Investors• Male and female college-
educated investors seeking a social investment cause
• Columbia alums, universities
• Investor Type – Individuals, Institutional Corporations focused on Corporate Social Responsibility
• Support from Columbia University
• Return Type – Impact, Maximum Yield
• Social Segment – Location, Profession, Education, Age, Alumni, Groups & Associations.
• Investment Amount Individuals - <$500 (until trust proven)
CONFIDENTIAL
Relationship with Borrowers, Investors and Partners.
Borrowers• Public transportation ads• Direct mail• Workshops through
community centers, churches, non’-profits, booths
4
Investors• Internet marketing• Direct mail• Philanthropy partner
events
Borrowers• U.S. urban underprivileged
borrowers- with low income (or)- challenging stories and or- high debt-to-income ratios• Credit Type - Underserved- Poor- Fair - Lower Middle Class (Avoid Highest Credit Risk)- Upper Middle Class
• Develop/Manage Platform• Promotion & Marketing• Risk Management• Reporting• Borrower/Investor Analytic
& Education Tools(Later Stage)
Borrowers
1. Underprivileged and “Problem Story” borrowers receive help from investors who perceive a social cause to get them out of Credit Card Debt with lower interest rate loans
• Non-profits - Robin Hood(if interests align • Community
Organizations -Neighborhood Trust • Department of
Consumer Affairs• Universities (focus on
Columbia)• Philanthropy
organizations• Credit Bureaus, Banks,
Trust Accounts, Internet Search Engines
• Investment Funds• Regulatory bodies –
SEC, OCC, Consumer Protection Agency
• Fixed : Development and Launching Costs , Infrastructure , Accounting systems, Trust Accounts, Legal & Marketing
• Variable : Acquisition, Customer Data Costs , Investment, Reporting, Recovery, Marketing , Operations , Legal & Compliance.
• Percent of Loan Spread (3-5%)• Margin on Returns• Subscription Fee • Pay-per-use• Referrals/Affiliate revenue
1. Direct Marketing2. Non-profit organizations3. Dedicated e-commerce4. Point of sale5. Press (WSJ)6. Key influencers, word of
mouth
• Physical :IT Infrastructure-Servers, Software, Datawarehouses , Office & equipment
• Intellectual : Brand, Proprietary Knowledge, Patents and Copyrights, Customer database
• Human resources – Risk, Technology, Marketing, Operations, Legal & Compliance
1
3
2
5
6 7
8
9
Investors
1. Give investors an opportunity to pursue a social cause by helping underprivileged and “Problem Story” borrowers come out of Debt
2. Higher ROI than traditional investment products
BUSINESS CANVAS – DAY 4
Investors• Male and predominantly
female • college-educated investors seeking a social investment cause • Columbia alums, • Other universities alums• Investor Type –
Individuals, Corporations focused on CSR
• Casual investors• Bank products users
(deposits, CDs)• Ethnic investors with
ethnic affiliation (on hold)• Investment Amount
Individuals - <$500 (until trust proven)
CONFIDENTIAL
Borrowers• Public transportation ads• Direct mail• Workshops through
community centers, churches, non’-profits, booths
4
Investors• Internet marketing• Direct mail• Philanthropy partner
events
1.Non Profit2.Community Organizations3.Ads and Publicity:free4.Public Transportation5.Community Papers6.Loan Counselling Centers7.Grocery -Family Dollar, Walmart,etc8.Online Marketing:Email Marketing, 9. Web Searches,Adwords,blogs & forums10.Partnerships with finance advisors
Borrowers• U.S. underprivileged
borrowers- with low income (or)- challenging stories or- high debt-to-income ratios• Credit Type - Poor- Fair - Lower Middle Class (Avoid Highest Credit Risk)- Upper Middle Class
• Develop/Manage Platform• Promotion & Marketing• Risk Management• Reporting• Borrower/Investor Analytic
& Education Tools(Later Stage)
Borrowers
1. Underprivileged and “Problem Story” borrowers receive help from investors who perceive a social cause to get them out of Credit Card Debt with lower interest rate loans
• Non-profits - Robin Hood(if interests align • Community
Organizations -Neighborhood Trust • Department of
Consumer Affairs• Universities (focus on
Columbia)• Philanthropy
organizations• Credit Bureaus, Banks,
Trust Accounts, Internet Search Engines
• Investment Funds• Regulatory bodies –
SEC, OCC, Consumer Protection Agency
• Fixed : Development and Launching Costs , Infrastructure , Accounting systems, Trust Accounts, Legal & Marketing
• Variable : Acquisition, Customer Data Costs , Investment, Reporting, Recovery, Marketing , Operations , Legal & Compliance.
• Loan Spread (3-5%)• Subscription Fee • Referrals/Affiliate revenue
1. Direct Marketing2. Non-profit organizations3. Dedicated e-commerce4. Point of sale5. Press6. Key influencers, word of
mouth
• Physical :IT Infrastructure-Servers, Software, Datawarehouses , Office & equipment
• Intellectual : Brand, Proprietary Knowledge, Patents and Copyrights, Customer database
• Human resources – Risk, Technology, Marketing, Operations, Legal & Compliance
1
3
2
5
6 7
8
9
Investors
1. Give investors an opportunity to pursue a social cause by helping underprivileged and “Problem Story” borrowers come out of Debt
2. Higher ROI than traditional investment products
BUSINESS CANVAS – DAY 5
Investors• Male and predominantly
female • college-educated investors seeking a social investment cause • Columbia alums, • Other universities alums• Investor Type –
Individuals, Corporations focused on CSR
• Casual investors• Bank products users
(deposits, CDs)• Ethnic investors with
ethnic affiliation (on hold)• Investment Amount
Individuals - <$500 (until trust proven)
CONFIDENTIAL
Borrowers• Public transportation ads• Direct mail• Workshops through
community centers, churches, non’-profits, booths
4
Investors• Internet marketing• Direct mail• Philanthropy partner
events
1.Non Profit2.Community Organizations3.Ads and Publicity: free4.Public Transportation5.Community Papers6.Loan Counseling Centers7.Grocery -Family Dollar, Walmart,etc8.Online Marketing: Email Marketing, 9. Web Searches, Adwords, blogs & forums10.Partnerships with finance advisors
Iterate: Next Steps
• Research regulations surrounding online peer to peer lending platforms
• Build an MVP
• In real life research of customer acquisition costs using different marketing channels for both borrowers and investors
• Continue to test customer segments, for example, social and ethnic affiliations
Appendix
Competitor LandscapeCompetitors Type of borrower Profit
making?ROI for lnvestors Interest paid?
Kiva Small businesses and ppl without access to banks
Non profit No ROI No interest paid to lenders, only interest paid to field partners to cover OpEx
Lending Club (LC) Prime borrowers with FICO score >660. Most stringent requirements.
Profit making
High returns from 6% to 18%
Lower rates than banks and credit cards
Prosper FICO score >640. Better option for borrowers than Lending Club.
Profit making
High returns from 6% to 18% but may have higher returns due to higher risk.
Lower rates than banks and credit cards
Lending Tree Loan broker that matches borrowers to lending institutions. Lenders pay to compete for business; borrowers don’t pay.
LoanSprite Low Income, High Debt-to-Income, Non-Prime, segment.
Profit making
-Low/reasonable returns due to social cause.-Similar/higher repayment rates
Lower rates than banks and credit cards, potentially lower than LC and Prosper
TARGET MARKET - US
Target Addressable Market
• Total US Revolving Debt (98% CC) – $864.2 Billion.
• % of households – 46.7%
• Average CC Debt- $7,768
• 42% population < 700 FICO
Served Available Market
• Non-Prime– 40%, $362.9Bn
LoanSprite
• Assuming 0.25% Market Share in 3 years ~ $453MM
• Assuming 3% -6% Gross Margin => $54.4MM – 108.8MM
http://www.nerdwallet.com/blog/credit-card-data/average-credit-card-debt-household/Source: FRBNY Consumer Credit Panel
Served Available Market
• Assuming 50% “Problem Story” Archetypes -> “181.45Bn”
Help others while you invest
Free yourself from Credit Card Debt
Invest smartly in a good cause. Help low income individuals to a debt free life,
with reasonable return on investment.
Are you struggling to keep up with your credit card payments? We offer help to
low income individuals with a low interest loan to pay off your debts.
Start helping today! Get help now!
How it Works About Us
PROTOTYPE – WEBSITE
Anonymousfrom Queens, NY
Hi there, I am originally from Latvia, and I have been in the US for 5 years. I built up my debt with my credit card when my baby Jasmine was born and now I am struggling to keep up with the payments. I need help now since Jasmine is starting school next month. I want to be and stay debt free.
$3,000Loan Amount
4 Years 10%Lender yield Sprite rating
Help her now! $$2,300 funded, $700 left
PROTOTYPE – WEBSITE How it Works About Us
LoanSpriteSocial cause
Low ratesSub prime
Kiva MicrolendingNon-profit Sub prime
No credit historyMulti-national
ProsperPro borrowers Lending Club
Pro Investors
Competitor Landscape Diagram
Near prime
No social causePrime borrowers
ChannelsBorrowers “Social” Investors
Non-profit organizations Online: email marketing, web searches, blogs and Adwords
Community organizations Social marketing
Advertising and Publicity: free newspapers, public transportation, community papers
Advertising and Publicity: Financial press
Loan counseling centers and websites: both for profit and non-profit
[in process of testing]
Grocery stores (POS), e.g. Family Dollar, Walmart, Target
Online marketing: email marketing, web searches, Adwords, blogs and forums
Partnerships with finance advisors
Tom
Jane