Click here to load reader

Organizational Psychology Review - University of Waterloo · PDF fileOrganizational Psychology Review ... we also address three weaknesses in conceptions of followership and contribute

  • View
    213

  • Download
    0

Embed Size (px)

Text of Organizational Psychology Review - University of Waterloo · PDF fileOrganizational Psychology...

  • http://opr.sagepub.com/Organizational Psychology Review

    http://opr.sagepub.com/content/early/2013/09/02/2041386613498765The online version of this article can be found at:

    DOI: 10.1177/2041386613498765

    published online 4 September 2013Organizational Psychology ReviewJ. Mark Weber and Celia Moore

    Squires: Key followers and the social facilitation of charismatic leadership

    Published by:

    http://www.sagepublications.com

    On behalf of:

    European Association of Work and Organizational Psychology

    can be found at:Organizational Psychology ReviewAdditional services and information for

    http://opr.sagepub.com/cgi/alertsEmail Alerts:

    http://opr.sagepub.com/subscriptionsSubscriptions:

    http://www.sagepub.com/journalsReprints.navReprints:

    http://www.sagepub.com/journalsPermissions.navPermissions:

    What is This?

    - Sep 4, 2013OnlineFirst Version of Record >>

    at UNIVERSITY OF WATERLOO on September 6, 2013opr.sagepub.comDownloaded from

    http://opr.sagepub.com/http://opr.sagepub.com/content/early/2013/09/02/2041386613498765http://www.sagepublications.comhttp://www.eawop.org/web/http://opr.sagepub.com/cgi/alertshttp://opr.sagepub.com/subscriptionshttp://www.sagepub.com/journalsReprints.navhttp://www.sagepub.com/journalsPermissions.navhttp://opr.sagepub.com/content/early/2013/09/02/2041386613498765.full.pdfhttp://online.sagepub.com/site/sphelp/vorhelp.xhtmlhttp://opr.sagepub.com/

  • Article

    Squires: Key followersand the social facilitationof charismatic leadership

    J. Mark WeberUniversity of Waterloo, Canada

    Celia MooreLondon Business School, UK

    AbstractDrawing on several theoretical traditions in the social sciences, we offer a theory of the socialfacilitation of charismatic leadership by introducing the concept of squires. Squires are key fol-lowers who serve four social facilitation functions: liberating and legitimizing, modeling, buffering,and interpreting and translating. Liberating and legitimizing builds on social conformity research.Modeling is based in the social learning and social influence literatures. Buffering, and interpretingand translating, draw on insights from the psychology of power and organizational theory. Thesefunctions help resolve two central charismatic leadership paradoxes: (a) the need to be differentfrom followers, though followers prefer to be led by leaders who are like them, and (b) the need tobe personally inspiring to followers while being socially distant from them. In specifying squiresfunctions, we also address three weaknesses in conceptions of followership and contribute tounderstandings of how charismatic leadership emerges, works, and endures.

    Keywordscharisma, groups/teams, leadership, power

    From Gandhis hope for an independent Indiato President Roosevelts plan to lift Americafrom the Depression, and from Rudy Giulianis

    dreams to resurrect New York City to RichardBransons desire to successfully outperformBritish Airways, charismatic leaders unique,

    Paper received 24 January 2012; revised version accepted 18 June 2013.

    Corresponding author:J. MarkWeber, Conrad Business, Entrepreneurship and Technology Centre, University ofWaterloo, 295 Hagey Boulevard,Suite 240, Waterloo, ON, Canada N2 L 6R5.Email: [email protected]

    Organizational Psychology Review129

    The Author(s) 2013Reprints and permission:

    sagepub.co.uk/journalsPermissions.navDOI: 10.1177/2041386613498765

    opr.sagepub.com

    OrganizationalPsychologyReview

    at UNIVERSITY OF WATERLOO on September 6, 2013opr.sagepub.comDownloaded from

    http://www.sagepub.co.uk/journalsPermissions.navhttp://opr.sagepub.comhttp://opr.sagepub.com/

  • compelling and grand aspirationswhich mostagree characterize charisma (Bass, 1985; Beyer,1999; Burns, 1978; Conger & Kanungo, 1998;M. Weber, 1947)also represent a seriouschallenge for them. These audacious and novelvisions often present obstacles to followers.How do you convince sane and cautious peopleto risk following someone who proposes theimpossible, or at least the implausible?

    The most common answer to this question isthat the charismatic leader is endowed witha personal magnetism that compels followers tofollow. Ever since Max Weber describedcharisma as a certain quality of an individualpersonality by virtue of which he is set apartfrom ordinarymen (1947, p. 358), charisma hasmost commonly been understood as a charac-teristic of individuals, a divinely inspired gift,as the Greek and biblical roots of the wordmight suggest (e.g., Beyer, 1999). Some arguethat the individual allure of charisma is enoughto inspire followers en masse to follow (e.g.,Willner, 1984), and dozens of articles havebeen written about the readiness of followers tofollow charismatic leaders (e.g., Bromley &Shupe, 1979; Galanter, 1982; Howell & Sha-mir, 2005; Masden & Snow, 1983; Wierter,1997). However, though inspiring behaviorsand personal magnetism clearly encourageothers to follow charismatics (Bass, 1985;Conger, 1989), they are not sufficient to explainthe emergence and continuing effectiveness ofmost successful charismatic leaders.

    More recent understandings of charismaidentify the relationship between leaders andfollowers as the true arena from which char-ismas influence stems (following from Burns,1978; see also Howell & Shamir, 2005). How-ever, the role of followers in facilitating theemergence, effectiveness, and endurance ofcharismatic relationships remains under-theorized. This paper presents a model of thesocial facilitation of charismatic leadership,focusing on the followers who make charismaticleaders possible and how they do so. We arguethat effective charismatic leadership requires

    four social facilitation functions(a) liberatingand legitimizing, (b) modeling, (c) buffering,and (d) interpreting and translatingand thatthese functions are often performed by close andhighly trusted followers, whom we call squires.

    Our theoretical development of the squireas a special type of socially facilitating fol-lower is a response to the legitimate criticismthat leadership studies have underemphasizedsituational factors in leadership effectiveness(Evans, 1970; Fiedler, 1978; House, 1971; Kerr& Jermier, 1978; Meindl, 1993). We alsorespond to Yukls (1999) call to explore themoderators of charismatic leadership, and toLowe and Gardners (2001) call to better und-erstand how charismatic behaviors yield posi-tive outcomes. Our paper also partly addressesChan and Briefs (2005) question, When dontfollowers follow? We suggest that potentialfollowers may choose not to follow leaders withcharismatic qualities if the charismatic lacks agood squire who can provide the social facil-itation functions on which the leaders emer-gence and ultimate effectiveness may depend.

    Since this paper is about a particular kind offollowers and the roles they play, we first exa-mine the role that scholars have proposed forfollowers in the leadership literature to date.Next, we introduce the role of the squire andexplain how it informs charismatic leadershiptheory. This aspect of our argument addressesthree central weaknesses we identify in currentconceptions of followership. Third, we discusstwo central paradoxes of charismatic leader-ship: (a) the need to be different from followers,though people generally prefer to be led byleaders who are like them (Hogg, 2004; Hogg,Hains, & Mason, 1998; D. van Knippenberg &Hogg, 2003), and (b) the need to be personallyinspiring to followers while also being sociallydistant from them. Fourth, we outline four keyfunctions squires fulfill that help them resolvethe challenges of difference and distance, eachof which was developed using extant organi-zational and social psychological theory andresearch. Fifth, we place our understanding of

    2 Organizational Psychology Review

    at UNIVERSITY OF WATERLOO on September 6, 2013opr.sagepub.comDownloaded from

    http://opr.sagepub.com/

  • squires and their roles within the broader con-text, discussing alternatives to squires that mightalso address these challenges. We conclude byconsidering some practical implications of ourtheory, along with directions for futureresearch. We use historical and current exam-ples of leaders and their squires from bothpolitical and organizational contexts as illus-trations of these dynamics.

    The nature of charisma

    A well-specified theory requires clarity aboutassumptions and constructs. Here we clarify ourassumptions regarding charismatic leadershipand charisma in general. The literature offersdisputed definitions of charisma, ranging fromunderstanding charisma as very rare (Beyer,1999; Katz & Kahn, 1978; following theWeberian tradition), to understanding charismaas falling in the same general category asinspirational and transformational leadership(cf. Conger, 1999). While we acknowledge thattransformational and charismatic leadershipshare many traits in common, we also sym-pathize with Beyers (1999) concern that theshift to understanding charismatic leadershipas a form of transformational leadership overlytames the construct. Without endorsing all asp-ects of Beyers argument, we believe followersperceptions of exceptionality and remarkablegiftedness are central to charismatic relation-ships between followers and leaders (Beyer,1999; Conger, 1999; M. Weber, 1947), and thatthese perceptions and their related attributionsdemand theorizing unique to the emergence andefficacy of charismatic leadership over anymeaningful length of time.

    Accounts of followers incharismatic leadership

    An ongoing criticism of the leadership litera-tureand the charismatic leadership literature inparticularis that it has focused primarily onleaders, without attending enough to the role of

    follower