Upload
others
View
14
Download
1
Embed Size (px)
Citation preview
Introduction to
e-Marketing
Introduction
• Email marketing
• Search engine marketing
• Google Adwords
• Social Media for Tourism
• Facebook advertising
• Bringing people to my site
Definitions • eDM - Electronic Direct Mail – an email (standard or newsletter) to a potential
customer who has subscribed to email correspondence with you or your business
• Open Rate - The number or percentage of people from your total pool of eDM
subscribers who have opened your email
• CTR - Click-Through-Rate – the number or percentage of people from the pool of
people who have opened your eDM that have clicked on a link in the eDM
• PPC - Pay-per-Click – an advertising charge model whereby you only pay for the
advert when someone clicks on it
• CPC - Cost-per-click - the $ value you pay every time a potential customer clicks
on one of your search engine or social media adverts
• CPM - Cost-per-thousand – the $ value you pay every thousand times your advert
is displayed to potential customers
• CPA - Cost-per-acquisition – the $ value you pay every time a potential customer
completes a required action after a click e.g. clicks a lead button or a booking
button or buys a ticket
• Blog – Contraction of web log. A discussion or information site consisting of
individual posts usually listed in reverse chronological order. Blogs can have
single or multiple authors.
Email Marketing
Email Marketing
• Also known as eDM = Electronic Direct
• Most direct line of communication for
conversion to sales
• Australian average “open rate” is 21.96%
• 91.66% of all Australian emails are
opened within 72hrs
• Mobile email opens have increased by
34%
• Australian average click through rate is
4.24%
Source: BrandMails Australian Email Marketing Benchmarks Report 2013
Why Email Marketing?
1. It is personal • Direct way of initiating ‘one-to-one’ conversation
• Build relationships with customers through regular contact
2. Trusted • Customers already opted in to messages from you
3. Measurable • Measure open rates, click through rates, bounces etc
4. It works • Generally highest ROI in marketing
• Customers pre-sold and ready to buy
5. Affordable • Powerful and cost-effective
Tips for successful email marketing
Headlines:
• Useful
• Ultra-specific
• Unique
• Urgent
Content:
• Interesting and relevant
• Call to action
• Tips about your region
• Make it easy to unsubscribe
• Link to your site
• Specials
Tips for successful email marketing (cont ..)
Important Actions:
• Create a communications plan
• Maximise your template
dimensions
• Keep text short and easy to
scan
• Keep email list clean
• Images – alt text, title text and
links
• Test your eDM before it is sent
• Create an HTML and a text only
version of your email
Best and Worst Times To Send Email
Best Times of Day
Consider:
• 10pm – 9am – Sleeping
• 9am – 10am – Starting Day – Emails opened
• 10am – Noon - Focus on work
• Noon – 2pm Lunchtime
• 2pm – 3pm Focus on work
• 3pm -5 pm Winding down
• 5pm – 7pm Magic moment
• 7pm – 10pm – After work activities
Best Times of the Week
Consider:
• Test what works for your business
• Early in the week good for planning trips for
next weekend
• Later in the week good for last minute deals
Search Engine Marketing
(Pay-Per-Click)
Search engine marketing
Why Search Engines?
Market share Global (Desktop):
Google 83%
Bing 5.63%
Yahoo 8.08%
You Tube is the second largest search engine
In the world and is owned by Google
Benefits
• Speed to market
• Reach
• Highly Targeted and Customisable
• Maximise your ROI by only paying per click
• Tracking
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BNHR6IQJGZs
Search engine marketing
Getting started with your Google AdWords Account
Getting started
• Choose your budget
• Create your ads
• Select keywords that match your ads to potential customers
• Enter your billing information.
Campaign Structure
• cost-per-thousand-impressions, or CPM, bid
• cost-per-click, or CPC, bid.
• cost-per-acquisition, or CPA, bid
Example:
Clicks for your keywords are approx. $0.10. Target 100 clicks per day.
$0.10 x 100 = $10 per day (Cost-per-click x Clicks per day = Daily budget)
Budget = $10 per day.
Search Engine Marketing
Writing a good advert
• Highlight what makes your
product/offer unique
• Include prices & promotions
• Tell your customers what they
can do
• Purchase, Call Today, Order, Sign Up
• Include keywords in your text
• Your keyword appears bold in the advert
• Match your ad to your landing page
• Ensure you ad is able to be viewed on mobile devices
• Experiment
Other Directory Listings
PAID
• Yellow Pages (Sensis)
• Google Adwords
• Reachlocal
• Truelocal
• Citysearch
Benefits
• Instant traffic
PAID
• Yellow Pages (Sensis)
• Google Adwords
• Reachlocal
• Truelocal
• Citysearch
Benefits
• Instant traffic
FREE
• Hotfrog
• ATDW
• Truelocal
• Gumtree
• Start Local
Benefits
• Free
FREE
• Hotfrog
• ATDW
• Truelocal
• Gumtree
• Start Local
Benefits
• Free
14
Search Engine Marketing
Social Media for Tourism
16
Social Media is now Mass Media
Channel Australia % AU Pop’n NZ % NZ Pop’n
Facebook 11.7 million 50.92% 2.27 million 50.89%
YouTube 9.92 million 43.29% 2.07 million 46.39%
LinkedIn 3.98 million 17.33% 743,000 16.66%
Twitter 2.97 million 12.95% 396,000 8.89%
WordPress 1.76 million 7.68% 343,000 7.69%
Pinterest 1.46 million 6.52% 188,000 4.21%
Flickr 1.2 million 5.24% 140,000 3.14%
Instagram 916,000 3.99% 182,000 4.08%
Tripadvisor 730,000 3.18% 243,000 5.46%
Benefits Challenges
Free Will require time to monitor and maintain
Easy to setup Advertising will cost
Target potential customers
Social Media for Tourism
Do’s:
• Do post regularly relevant content
• Do have great photos, links, videos
• Do keep business separate from personal
• Do offer value and incentive to be liked
Don’ts:
• Don’t use personal for business, it violates
terms of service
• Don’t talk to clients the way you talk to
friends
• Don’t try to ‘flog’ your product constantly
• Don’t forget to check your page daily
Statistics
Users
Worldwide
1.2 billion
% Global
Use
11%
AU Users 11.7 million
Social Media for Tourism
Google +
Benefits:
• Growing fast
• Google+ influences search ranking
• Similar to Facebook but you can allocate
followers to groups and target messages
Challenges:
• Time
• Resources
Statistics
Users
Worldwide
135 million
Daily Use 60%
Social Media for Tourism
Benefits:
• Communicating
• Generating Leads
• Researching trends
• Seeking Feedback
• Customer service
Challenges:
• Time
• Resources
• Spamming
Statistics
Users
Worldwide
485 million
Daily Use 20%
AU Users 1.6 million
YouTube
• Benefits:
• Increase conversion rate
• Customers understand your product
• Rank better in a Google search
• Showcase your personality
• Challenges:
• Cost
• Looks professional
Statistics
Users
Monthly
Worldwide
1 billion
Daily Use 40%
AU Users 9.92 million
Social Media Points to Note
• Be professional
• Be active on social media to improve ‘social signals’
• Improve preference in search engines.
Facebook Advertising
Facebook advertising
Different advert types
www.hubspot.com
Key differences:
• Google Ads – bid on keywords people are
searching for
• Facebook ads – bid on ‘likes’ and peoples
interests
Advert types:
• External Website (Standard) Ads
• Facebook Object (Like) Ads
• Page Post Ads
• Sponsored Stories
• Promoted Posts
• Facebook Offers
Facebook advertising
Setting up an ad campaign
www.hubspot.com
• What do you want to achieve • Page Likes? Promote Posts?
• Reach the right audience • What’s your ideal customer?
• Location, age, gender
• Campaign Pricing and Schedule • Budget
• Timing
• Test multiple ads • Have a test control
• Change one part at a time
• Measure your ad performance
Bringing People to My
Site
Bringing people to my site
• Partnering and Clustering
• Links & info about other relevant attractions
• Regional blog
• Improved destination information
• Guest blogs
• Create media releases
• Video
• Google + Local
Exercises & Resources
Exercises
• Come up with 5 killer headlines to ensure I will
open up your email newsletter
• Write 3 posts for your Facebook Business Page
this week
RESOURCES
USEFUL LINKS
• www.Aweber.com & www.campaignmonitor.com
Email Newsletter Management Software
• http://www.google.com/adwords/ &
http://www.google.com.au/adwords/displaynetwork
Google Adwords and Display Network Centres
• https://www.reachlocal.com.au &http://www.clickmanager.com.au
Campaign and Website Tracking and Monitoring tools
• http://www.hotfrog.com.au, http://www.trulocal.com.au,
http://www.gumtree.com.au, http://www.startlocal.com.au/
Example directory listing websites
RESOURCES
USEFUL LINKS
• http://www.facebook.com/help/
Facebook Help Centre
• https://adwords.google.com/o/KeywordTool
Use this tool to explore the keywords most relevant to your product
• http://www.ret.gov.au/ntaf
For general information about T-QUAL accreditation
• http://atdw.com.au/
For information on the Australian Tourism Data Warehouse and current distributors
• http://getconnectedregister.dnsw.com.au/GetConnected.asp
Get Connected/ATDW registration page
• http://www.atdw.com.au/tourismekit.aspx
Tourism e-Kit – free digital educational tutorials for the tourism industry in Australia
Tourism E-Kit tutorials
• Email Marketing – Tutorial 25
• Google Adwords – Tutorial 27
• Social Media for Tourism 31 - Tutorial 40
• TXA Tutorial – Tutorial 24
• ATDW Tutorial - Tutorial 31
31
32