32 Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) for Ecommerce - KPI Examples

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    32 Key Performance Indicators

    (KPIs) for Ecommerce

     

    319 shares  

    Analytics (/blog/topics/analytics)

    37 comments (/blog/7365564-32-key-performance-indicators-kpis-for-ecommerce#comments)

    by Mark Hayes 7 minute read

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    Performance should inform business decisions and KPIs should drive actions.

    Key performance indicators (KPIs) are like milestones on the road to online retail success.

    Monitoring them will help ecommerce entrepreneurs identify progress toward sales, marketing,

    and customer service goals.

     A performance indicator is simply a quantifiable measurement or data point used to gaugeperformance relative to some goal. As an example, it may be a goal for some online retailers

    to increase site traffic 50 % in the next year. Relative to this goal, a performance indicator 

    might be the number of unique visitors the site receives daily or which traffic sources send

    visitors (pay-per-click advertising, search engine optimization, brand or display advertising, or 

    a YouTube video).

    For some goals there could be many performance indicators — often too many — so often

    people narrow it down to just two or three impactful data points known as key performance

    indicators. KPIs are those measurements that most accurately and succinctly show whether or 

    not a business in progressing toward its goal.

    Setting Goals and Identifiying KPIs

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    Selecting KPIs begins with clearly stating goals and understanding what areas of business

    impact those goals. Of course, KPIs can and should differ for each of an online retailer's goals,

    whether those are related to boosting sales, streamlining marketing, or improving customer 

    service.

    Here are a few examples of goals and associated KPIs:

    GOAL 1 — Boost sales 10% in the next quarter. KPIs include daily sales, conversion rate(http://www.shopify.com/blog/6700752-9-elements-you-need-to-conversion-test), site traffic.

    GOAL 2 — Increase conversion rate 2% in the next year. KPIs include conversion rate,

    shopping cart abandonment rate, associated shipping rate trends, competitive price trends.

    GOAL 3 — Grow site traffic 20 percent in the next year. KPIs include site traffic, traffic

    sources, promotional click-through rates, social shares, bounce rates.

    GOAL 4 — Reduce customer service calls by half in the next 6 months. KPIs include

    service call classification, identify of page visited immediately before the call, event that

    lead to the call.

    It should be easy to see that there are many performance indicators, and the value of those

    indicators is directly tied to the goal progress measured. Monitoring which page someone

    visited before initiating a customer service call makes sense as a KPI for GOAL 4 since it

    could help identify areas of confusion that when corrected would reduce customer service

    calls, but that same performance indicator would be almost useless for GOAL 3.

    With the idea that KPIs should differ based on the goal being measured, it's possible to

    consider a set of common performance indicators for ecommerce. Here are 32 common

    ecommerce key performance indicators. Just remember that the performance indicators listed

    below is in no way exhaustive.

    32 Key Performance Indicators

    Sales Key Performance Indicators:

    Hourly, daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, and annual sales

     Average order size (sometimes called average market basket)

     Average margin

    Conversion rate

    Shopping cart abandonment rate

    http://www.shopify.com/blog/6700752-9-elements-you-need-to-conversion-test

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    New customer orders versus returning customer sales

    Cost of goods sold

    Total available market relative to a retailer's share of market

    Product affinity (which products are purchased together)

    Product relationship (which products are viewed consecutively)

    Inventory levels

    Competitive pricing

    Marketing Key Performance Indicators:

    Site traffic

    Unique visitors versus returning visitors

    Time on site

    Page views per visit

    Traffic source

    Day part monitoring (when site visitors come)

    Newsletter subscribers

    Texting subscribers

    Chat sessions initiated

    Facebook, Twitter, or Pinterest followers or fans

    Pay-per-click traffic volume

    Blog traffic

    Number and quality of product reviews

    Brand or display advertising click-through rates

     Affiliate performance rates

    Customer Service Key Performance Indicators:

    Customer service email count

    Customer service phone call count

    Customer service chat count

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     Average resolution time

    Concern classification

    Once you have set goals and selected KPIs, monitoring those indicators should become an

    everyday exercise. And most importantly: Performance should inform business decisions,

    and you should use KPIs to drive actions.

    319 shares  

    37 comments

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    Wes CoughlinFebruary 21 2013, 12:26pm

    You mention " monitoring those indicators should become an everyday exercise."

    Is there any online software to help quickly monitor these figures? A combo of google

    analytics, Sumall, Mailchimp, and social on a one page dashboard would be cool.

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    Wendy Guerin

    February 21 2013, 01:50pm

    Wes – check out Cyfe for the dashboard.

    Lars Groth-Rasmussen

    February 21 2013, 03:00pm

    You can also try out Qlikview, they have a full free version

    http://www.qlikview.com/us/explore/experience/free-download and if you combine it

    with a Salesforce.com developer version http://developer.force.com/ you would get a

    fantastic overview. Do Shopify consider collaborating with companies like these in the

    future??

    Julie Henderson

    February 21 2013, 03:15pm

    Nice list of KPIs. I like the idea of defining a goal first then choosing the appropriate

    metrics that work toward hitting that goal.

    Annie Hawkins

    February 21 2013, 05:08pm

    Hi Wes, good question! You should check out Domo. They care about making it easy

    to see all the data you care about in one beautiful dashboard. They also have a

    solution for retailers: http://www.domo.com/solutions/retail

    Jason Greenberg

    February 25 2013, 01:42pm

    Hi Wes, you should take a look at Social Annex their analytics include demographics,

    Social ROI, audience likes and interest, and more that update daily;

    http://bit.ly/VccB1t. Their services also include tools that will help boost and track all of 

    the KPI’s listed above.

    Thanks for the post Mark!

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    Kris

    February 26 2013, 12:20am

    Wes there is geckoboard :)

    Website Design Company

    February 27 2013, 05:07am

    This blog is very informative..thanks for sharing your views

    Gooddens

    March 01 2013, 12:57pm

    this is nice list of kpi to check the peormance of shopping sites.

    Suana William

    March 08 2013, 06:31am

    KPIs are bread and butter of successful e-commerce consultancy for sure. This article

    explains really well how to go about choosing and setting up your own set of KPIs to

    track. I especially like the part about finding your own baseline.

    Dave Huss

    March 11 2013, 02:30pm

    Nice list of KPIs, and yes it is important to track them on a regular basis for sure.

    One KPI that you didn’t mention that I use often (especially when doing paid traffic like

     Adwords) is profit per visitor.

    Profit Per Visitor = Average Order Value * Average Margin * Conversion Rate

    That KPI makes it really easy to project if buying traffic through Adwords or other 

    sources would be profitable because you can directly compare it to cost-per-clicks.

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    Example:

    You sell widgets with average order value of $200

    Your average margin is 50%

    Your conversion rate is 1%

    $200 * 0.5 * 0.01 = $1.00 Profit Per Visitor 

    That means you could pay up to $1.00 per click in Adwords and expect to make a

    positive ROI

    My post here goes into more detail about it:

    http://ecommercedouble.com/simple-2-minute-test-to-determine-if-adwords-will-be-

    profitable-for-you/

    e commerce web solutionMarch 13 2013, 01:23am

    Thanks for the idea. For making ecommerce successful, keeping this key performance

    indicators in mind is important.

    ABC's of Ecommerce

    March 16 2013, 09:24am

    Good list but you have forgotten one very important performance indicator – the

    refund rate. If you have many sales but your refund rate is high, then there is nothing

    good about those sales… only loses.

    You can read more about this and how to lower your refund rate and increase your 

    conversion rate in the 6th chapter of my ebook, available at http://www.abc-of-

    ecommerce.com

    Bernie Smith

    March 18 2013, 03:24am

    Key Performance Indicator’s are most important factor of online business and play

    most important role in decision making process for increasing market strategy and

    performance.

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    suhana

     April 09 2013, 07:12am

    HI

    Today i came across this amazing new website named nupinch.com…i really think

    you guys should check it out..

    Link: http://bit.ly/XczfI3

    shazzid

    June 06 2013, 01:25am

    hi

    i want to know some KPI examples for Accounts department. can anybody provide methat?

    Eco

    September 19 2013, 06:12pm

    Just starting my goals for my business and putting together my vision for the next 5

    years and your post was very informative. Thank you.

    Oluwatosin

    September 26 2013, 08:43am

    Quite educating. Please can i have the KPIs in a Consruction Company?

    Apalife.com

    September 29 2013, 11:56am

    Can someone help me ? What formula is caculating the KPI of Ecommerce. Or What

    formula does I got a KPI ‘s Ecommerce.

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    Debashish Gupta

    October 18 2013, 03:45am

    Very valuable information in this blog. Thank you very much.

    Meena

    October 25 2013, 09:11am

    Very informative blog.Thank you for listing KPIs for Digital commerce

    Sreeram

    December 18 2013, 07:14am

    Hi Wes, you can also check out http://ubiq.co to track Ecommerce metrics

    Daniel

    February 09 2014, 03:53pm

    I am a very small inbound marketing agency and measurement plus analysis seems

    so critical for all my clients but it’s my job to show them why and how. I often have to

    use the phrase, “If you can’t measure it, you can’t manage it”. You were very clear in

    this post how important it is to pay attention to analytics. I am learning how to separate

    the key KPIs from more useless reports which seems to be expanding all the time. If I

    had one item of value that I could offer to your readers, it’s to learn which are the 5 to

    10 reports and key performance indicators that make their decision making process

    smoother. Your blog posts seem to be, and should be of great help in this area.

    Education is everything.

    ashraf siddiqui

    February 10 2014, 07:06am

    i would like to know about Logistics supply chain distribution and transport KPI

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    RLS-911

    March 29 2014, 07:56pm

    Great blog with good, clear information. I am just starting out researching how to

    effectively and successfully conduct eCommerce. Within the past 2-weeks I registered

    a domain name and secured a website host. I have a marketing and business degree

    and am looking towards online eCommerce as a way expand business and revenue.

    Thanks to those who included informational links in their posts. I’ve looked at themand they are helpful. Glad I happened upon this blog.

    Yatin Bhatia

    May 29 2014, 01:02pm

    I just saw this conversation.. great list of KPI.. But if we look at all of them, these are

    high frequency and impact decisions and needs a system that embed properly in thedecision cycle. Systems that can engineer decisions not just share the numbers and

    leave us alone in the last mile..

    I know some systems that do it very well.. Anyone interested can call me at (510) 517-

    3347. I’ll be happy to help..

    Mark D

    June 22 2014, 06:21pm

     Are there ecommerce & retail industry benchmarks so compare the KPIs for my

    company against? Where can we find them?

    Grant Crowell

    July 16 2014, 05:11pm

    Great list, although what’s missing are video KPIs! Online video has some distinctive

    KPIs of it’s own — both for YouTube and professional online video players.

    Carlo Alberto Dall'Amico

    July 22 2014, 06:00am

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    In reply to Wes, let me suggest our eCommerce analytics platform: Wunderdata.com

    We provide you with a cloud BI solution to track and analyze nearly everything

    mentioned in the above list.

    In reply to Mark D: along the line of this post we recently researched on what are the

    essential KPIs for online shops / eCommerce. We provide a framework to choose

    which KPIs to track, define the KPIs themselves, and give benchmarks (when data is

    available and when it make sense)

    here’s the full article: http://wunderdata.com/key-performance-indicators-kpi-

    ecommerce/

    anuj veer

    July 26 2014, 08:11am

    quite informative …nice blog.

    PETER B.L BORLO

     August 31 2014, 08:57pm

    this is an illuminating lecture.however,it would more gladdening if u can come up with

    KIPs in PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION IN THE DEVELOPING COUNTRIES OF

     AFRICA.THANKS.

    Sean

    October 27 2014, 02:48pm

    Wes and others—I’m late to the party, but you could check out Spring Metrics.(www.springmetrics.com). They have an easy to read analytics dashboard which

    covers the most important KPIs.

    The important thing is to identify the KPIs which are central to your unique business.

    Conversion rate might not be high on the list, but AOV might be.

    Isha Sharma

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    September 13 2015, 01:34am

    Hello!

    Great article and advice from everyone. I am in the process of staring my e commerce

    business and wondering what should be my Goal for 1st year or which KPI I should be

    focussing on(if any in particular). Would love to hear some thoughts from the personal

    experiences. Thanks.

    J.Nuno

    November 15 2015, 01:55pm

    Been using Cyfe and realy its all-in-one sollution!!!

    http://www.cyfe.com/r/135656

    Romain Caisse

    February 05 2016, 04:14am

    Great article. Thanks for putting this together.Looking forward to more of this. I found

    an interesting article regarding ecommerce here you can find it http://goo.gl/kmhLsm

    Melvin Finner

    March 16 2016, 05:17pm

    Hell Web developers,designers and fellow Entrepreneurs

    I’d like to get some input on my new shopify website www.r3sportsapparel.com and

    see what your thoughts may be as far as any advice you can offer. I’m new to the

    whole ecommerce thing and would really love to get some input from anyone that’swilling to give it.

    Thanks….

    Khalid Ahmad Shah

     April 04 2016, 04:52am

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