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How to thrive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

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Page 1: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

How to thrive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

Page 2: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

Founder / Growth Hacker7 years

Founder1 year

Growth Coach / Growth Hacker1 year

Organizer / Mentor4 years

@MikevHoenselaar

[email protected]

Page 3: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

Find them again at http://vruc.ht/sbcghmm

@MikevHoenselaar

Page 4: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

You tell lies!

@MikevHoenselaar

Page 5: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

“I believe we are all liars, but I think to a certain degree it’s a necessity. To get up in the morning and face the universe as an entrepreneur, you need to have a bit of a reality distortion field.”

Ben YoskovitzAuthor Lean Analytics

@MikevHoenselaar

Page 6: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

The oxygenfor GrowthComparative, Understandable, Ratio or rate

Metrics are

@MikevHoenselaar

Page 7: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

Behavior changingMetrics are

@MikevHoenselaar

Page 8: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

Where to start?It depends :)

What drives your startup, what is it’s oxygen?

Who is your customer?

What do your customers want to achieve with your product?

What do you want to learn?

Take the first step!

@MikevHoenselaar

Page 9: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

Know that youdon’t knowDonald Rumsfeld, US Secretary of Defense

Image: Karin Cooper/Getty Images@MikevHoenselaar

Page 10: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

16@MikevHoenselaarImage: Lean Analytics book

Page 11: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

The One MetricThat Matters

OMTM

@MikevHoenselaar 55

Page 12: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

Yes! Not working?Pick another one.

Can I use made-up metrics?

@MikevHoenselaar

Page 13: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

‘analysis paralysis’

NFA #6

Page 14: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

Focus! 1@MikevHoenselaar

Page 15: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

$40 a month

$40 per monthSupports lots of API’s

FreeLess customizability< 5 minutes setup for basics

$9 per monthLots of custom optionsLonger setup

Page 16: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

What happens if ratio increases/ decreases?Make an action plan!

@MikevHoenselaar

Page 17: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

@MikevHoenselaar

Intelligence Events

“Send notification if the average amount per order drops 10%

since the week before.”

< 1 hour setup

Works by default in Google Analytics.

6 months in, this alert triggered. What happened was that dev team deployed new version of website with “discounts sidebar” visible on cart page. Oops! :)

Page 18: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

5 stagesEmpathy, Stickiness, ViralityRevenue and Scale

@MikevHoenselaar

Page 19: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

@MikevHoenselaar

Page 20: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

@MikevHoenselaar

What could be their OMTM?

Videos uploaded per minute(enough new content being added)

Hours watched per day (per user)(enough people watching the content)

Shares per video per day(enough people talking about the videos)

100M views (vanity)(when does a video reach 100M views, record is 4 days ‘Gentlemen’)

Page 21: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

@MikevHoenselaar

Our OMTM?242 listings, 750 reviews

Requests per day(give enough value to escaperooms, 11 per day atm)

Users per month(are we getting enough people in, 20k per month atm)

Reviews per user(are people coming back. 1,3 reviews per user)

Shares per listing(Do people share their favorite escaperoom, answer is NO)

Page 22: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

400% month

over month

60%month

over month

@MikevHoenselaar

Page 23: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

EmpathySee if others pretend to believe your lies.

Will anyone care?

159@MikevHoenselaar

Page 24: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

@MikevHoenselaar

Test value proposition

“Can we get people to click on a FB ad and test what is the biggest pain for our target

audience?”

14 ads in one ad group

1 week of testing

No real landing page

Focus on CTR

< 500 euro

We found right direction to continue product and use in next experiment.

Page 25: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

!FB picks

winner after 48 hours

@MikevHoenselaar

Page 26: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

@MikevHoenselaar

Test value proposition

“How do people perceive the purpose of our landing page

design?”

1 image

5 second test

1 week of testing

Only time needed (2 hours of clicking other people’s tests and learn from those as well)

We found people wouldn’t get the premise of the landing page. Changed it, did it again. Saw positive uplift.

Page 27: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

@MikevHoenselaar

Page 28: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

StickinessPeople believe your lies and you want them to come

back to hear more of them

203@MikevHoenselaar

Page 29: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

Top landing pages

Top Exit pages

Highest traffic pages

Most expensive pages

Identify your most important pages

@MikevHoenselaar

Page 30: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

P.I.E.S

@MikevHoenselaar

Page 31: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics
Page 32: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

@MikevHoenselaar

“How can we find the best places to optimize to increase

conversion?”

Pick your funnel(cart -> info -> payment -> thank you)

Implement Enhanced E-commerce

View report in Google Analytics and see where most people drop off.

We removed friction for client in form (IE problem) and increased conversion uplift of 10%, sales per month increase of € 15k)

(It’s also interesting to see where they drop off to! Use segmentation!)

Conversion

Page 33: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

Measure, test, iterate!@MikevHoenselaar

Page 34: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

Watch 30 videos, get your hypothesis!

@MikevHoenselaar

Page 35: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

@MikevHoenselaar

E-mailmarketing

“Can we get people to come back that visited an escape

room?”

We already had their email addresses, we didn’t need an opt-in anymore.

We decided to do a mailing to ask for a review. We knew when they visited the escaperoom to make it relevant.

40% of people engaged with the email and 50% gave their review. Currently 750 reviews in 6 months.

Page 36: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

15% growth in reviews per week

@MikevHoenselaar

Page 37: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

Read this!

@MikevHoenselaar

Page 38: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

ViralityPeople are convincing others about your ‘lies’

227@MikevHoenselaar

Page 39: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

74% of high growth startups fail due to premature scaling

Startup Genome Report Extra: Premature Scaling → http://vruc.ht/sgr@MikevHoenselaar

Page 40: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

Viral coefficientAmount of new customers that each existing customer is able to convert

Empathy, Stickiness, ViralityRevenue and Scale

@MikevHoenselaar

Page 41: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

invitation rate(invites sent / users)

*acceptance rate(signups / invites)

Viral coefficient

@MikevHoenselaar

Cu

sto

mer

s

Time

Page 42: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

invitation rate(invites sent / users)

*acceptance rate(signups / invites)

Viral coefficient

@MikevHoenselaar

1250 users that send 2000 invitesInvitation rate = 1.6

Of those 2000 invites580 people accept the invite (signup)acceptance rate = 0.29 (29%)

VC = 1.6 * 0.29 = 0.464

Long way to go :)

Page 43: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

Image: http://www.slideshare.net/timhomuth/think-like-a-growth-hacker@MikevHoenselaar

Page 44: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

When was the last time you invited someone to Dropbox?

(For me it has been years ago)

@MikevHoenselaar

Happensmostlyonce

Page 45: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

RevenuePeople believe your lies, you want them to start

paying for them

@MikevHoenselaar 241

Are they still lies?

Page 46: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

25%

25 of 100 people churn per monthCustomer lifetime is 4 months (100/25 = 4)

CLV = 20 * 4 = € 80max CAC = 80 / 3 = € 26,50

10%

10 of 100 people churn per monthCustomer lifetime is 10 months(100/10 = 10)

CLV = 20 * 10 = € 200max CAC = 200 / 3 = € 66,50

2%

2 of 100 people churn per monthCustomer lifetime is 50 months(100/2 = 50)

CLV = 20 * 50 = € 1000max CAC = 1000 / 3 = € 333

What do you earn per customer per month? € 20Lots of startups take ⅓ of their CLV as max CAC (in the end it’s up to you)

CLV and CAC

@MikevHoenselaar

Page 47: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

Spent € 263,25 and you got 3 conversions. CAC is € 87,75 here.

(Notice the € 0!)

@MikevHoenselaar

Page 48: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

More Dropbox lessons fromDrew Houston (CEO)?http://vruc.ht/dropboxll

@MikevHoenselaar

Page 49: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

One more thingpleassse…

@MikevHoenselaar

Page 50: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

CTR 3%

conversion 15%

Exit survey

1%

7%

€ 600 ads€ 2500 setup

363 clicks

€ 5k+ in sales

max CAC was € 60our CAC was € 104

video tracking

25 units€ 199

2500 people

@MikevHoenselaar

Page 51: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

CTR 3%

17%

Exit survey

1%

7%

€ 600 ads€ 500 setup

425 clicks

€ 6k in sales

max CAC was € 60our CAC was € 37

video tracking

30 units€ 199

2500 people

@MikevHoenselaar

Page 52: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

ScaleCompetitors are starting to tell lies about you but

will shoot for the stars!

255@MikevHoenselaar

Page 53: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

Let the Growth Hacking beginBut you can implement techniques of GH a lot earlier of course :)

@MikevHoenselaar

Page 54: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

Inspirationpetithacks.com

growthhackers.cominbound.org

quicksprout.comgrowthhack.com

@MikevHoenselaar

Page 55: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics
Page 56: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

@MikevHoenselaar

[email protected]

Q&ADownload slides on http://vruc.ht/sbcghmm

Page 57: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics
Page 58: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics
Page 59: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics
Page 60: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

AND NOW...

@MikevHoenselaar

Page 61: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

Pivot != iterateFocus on OMTM

@MikevHoenselaar@MikevHoenselaar

Page 62: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

1. What is your business objective?2. Define your metrics (KPI’s)3. What is your conversion funnel?4. Define segmentation criteria5. Define objectives

@MikevHoenselaar

Page 63: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics
Page 64: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

Business model & stage and metrics

@MikevHoenselaar

Lean Analytics infographic

Get them athttp://vruc.ht/lai

Page 65: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

24sessions, Clickly, Crazylister, Liater, Trylikes, StoreGecko

Page 66: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

The Core ofLean is iteration

This is wherethings fall apart

Page 67: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

People invite their own network

(The ones you invite are most likely in the same network)

@MikevHoenselaar

declineswhen

everybody is using

your product

Page 68: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics
Page 69: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

Something that has never ever ever being said about marketing metrics

@MikevHoenselaar

Page 70: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

1 Number1 Product1 Market1 Name1 Location1 Metric1 Channel

Page 71: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

is a superpowerA leading, causing metric

Predicts the future and directly impacts a dependent metric.Current prospects in sales funnel for instance.

Page 72: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

[NAME] was [ACTIVITY] at [LOCATION] with his/her [PRODUCT] on.He/She is looking for the right metric to see if people at [LOCATION] want to buy his [PRODUCT]. He believes that [METRIC] will do that. He starts with a campaign via [CHANNEL] to sell [NUMBER ] products and targets [MARKET]. Do you think he has what it takes?

Page 73: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

Don’t build somethingwithout metrics

@MikevHoenselaar

Or a kitten dies

Page 74: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

● Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC)● Customer Lifetime Value (CLV)

● Viral Coefficient● Customer Retention Rate

● Number of hits● Page views

● Unique visitors (not always)● Followers/likes● Emails collected● App downloads

Vanity Metrics

Page 75: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

metrics @ helpdeskIt’s dangerous to assume that speed automatically equals a positive customer experience.

Page 76: How to trive as an early stage startup by using the right metrics

An inaccurate or false statement; a falsehood.