View
30.020
Download
9
Category
Tags:
Preview:
DESCRIPTION
Rand Fishkin's presentation on the application of skepticism in web marketing.
Citation preview
Rand Fishkin, Wizard of Moz | @randfish | rand@moz.com
Why Great MarketersMust Be Great Skeptics
This Presentation Is Online Here:
bit.ly/mozskeptics
Great SkepticismDefining
I have some depressing news…
Does anyone in this room believe that the Earth doesn’t revolve around the Sun?
The Earth (and everything in the solar system,
including the Sun) revolves around our system’s
gravitational Barycenter, which is only sometimes
near the center of the Sun.
Let’s try a moremarketing-centric example...
In 2009, Conversion Rate Experts built us a new landing page, and
increased our subscribers by nearly
25%. What did they do?
Via CRE’s Case Study
One of the most commonly cited facts
about CRE’s work is the “long landing page.”
The Crap Skeptic The Good Skeptic The Great Skeptic
Let’s change our landing page to be a long one
right now!
We should A/B test a long
landing page in our conversion
funnel.
How do we know page length was
responsible? What else changed?
The Crap Skeptic The Good Skeptic The Great Skeptic
“I do believe sadly it’s going to take some diseases coming back to realize that we need to change and develop vaccines that are safe.”
“Listen, all magic is scientific principals presented like "mystical hoodoo" which is fun, but it's sort of irresponsible.”
"The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it."
In fact, we’ve changed our landing pages numerous
times to shorter versions and seen equal success. Length, it
would seem, was not the primary factor in this page’s
success.
What separates the crap, good, & great?
Assumes one belief-reinforcing data point is evidence enough
Doesn’t question what’s truly causal vs. merely correlated
Doesn’t seek to validate
Doesn’t make assumptions about why a result occurred
Knows that correlation isn’t necessarily causal
Validates assumptions w/ data
Seeks to discover the reasons underlying the results
Knows that correlationdoesn’t imply causality
Thoroughly validates, but doesn’t let imperfect knowledge stop
progress
Will more conversion tests lead to better results?
Testing
Obviously the more tests we run, the better we can
optimize our pages. We need to build a “culture of
testing” around here.
Via Wordstream’s What is a Good Conversion Rate?
Via Wordstream’s What is a Good Conversion Rate?
Do Those Who Test More Really Perform Better?
Hmm… There’s no correlation between those who run more tests across more pages and
those who have higher conversion rates. Maybe the number of tests isn’t the right
goal.
Via Factors That Drive How Quickly You Can Run New Online Tests
Trust
Word of Mouth
LikabilityDesign
Associations
Word of Mouth
Amount of Pain
CTAs
UX
Effort Required
Process
Historical Experiences
Social Proof
Copywriting
CONVERSION DECISION
Timing
Discovery Path
Branding
Price(it’s a complex process)
How do we know where ourconversion problems lie?
Ask Smart Questions to the Right PeoplePotential Customers
Who Didn’t BuyThose Who Tried/Bought But
Didn’t Love ItCustomers Who
Bought & Loved It
Professional, demographic, & psychographic characteristics
Professional, demographic, & psychographic characteristics
Professional, demographic, & psychographic characteristics
What objections did you have to buying?
What objections did you have; how did you overcome them?
What objections did you overcome; how?What would have made you
stay/love the product?What would have made
you overcome them?
What do you love most? Can we share?
We can start by targeting the right kinds of
customers. Trying to please everyone is a recipe for
disaster.
Our tests should be focused around overcoming the
objections of the people who best match our
customer profiles
Testing button colors
Testing headlines, copy, visuals, & form fields
Designing for how customers think about their problems &
your solution
THIS!
Does telling users we encrypt data scare them?
Security
Via Visual Website Optimizer
Could this actually HURT conversion?
Via Visual Website Optimizer
Via Visual Website Optimizer
A/B Test Results
They found that without the secure icon had over 400% improvement on conversions as compared to having the image.
[Note: results ARE statistically significant]
We need to remove the security messages on our
site ASAP!
We should test this.
Is this the most meaningful test we can perform right now?
(I’m not saying it isn’t, just that we should prioritize intelligently)
Via Kayak’s Most Interesting A/B Test
vs.
Via Kayak’s Most Interesting A/B Test
A/B Test Results
“So we decided to do our own experiment about this and we actually found the opposite that when we removed the messaging, people tended to book less.”
- Vinayak Ranade, Director of Engineering for Mobile, KAYAK
Good thing we tested!
Good thing we tested!
Your evidence is no match for my
ignorance!
What should we expect from sharing our content on social media?
Social CTR
Just find the average social CTRs and then try to match
them or do better. No brainer.
Via Signup.to’s Analysis of CTR on Twitter
Via Signup.to’s Analysis of CTR on Twitter
306/701 = 43.6%... WTF??
Phew! We’re not alone.
Via Chartbeat
Assuming social metrics and engagement correlate was a flawed assumption. We need
to find a better way to measure and improve social sharing.
OK. We can create some benchmarks based on these numbers and their averages,
then work to improve them over time.
That is an insane amount of variability!
There are other factors at work here. We need to understand them before we can create
smart metrics or useful expectations
Timing
Source
Audience Affinity
Formatting
Network-Created Limitations to Visibility
Brand Reach
Traffic
Engagement
Let’s start by examining the data and impacts of timing.
Via Facebook Insights
Via Google Analytics
There’s a lot of nuance, but we can certainly see how
messages sent at certain times reach different sizes and
populations of our audience.
Comparing a tweet or share sent at 9am Pacific against tweets
and shares sent at 11pm Pacific will give us misleading data.
But, we now know three things:
#1 - When our audience is online
#2 – Sharing just once is suboptimal
#3 – To be a great skeptic (and marketer), we should attempt to understand each of these inputs with similar rigorousness
Do they work? Can we make them more effective?
Share Buttons
After relentless testing, OKTrends found that the following share buttons worked best:
OKTrends found that removing all but a single button (the “like” on Facebook) had
the most positive effect.
And that waiting until the visitor had scrolled to the bottom of the article produced the
highest number of actions
We should remove all our social sharing buttons and replace them with a single slide-over social CTA for
Facebook likes!
Buzzfeed has also done a tremendous amount of social button testing & optimization…
And sometimes they do this…
And sometimes this…
Is Buzzfeed still in testing mode?
Nope.They’ve found it’s best to show different buttons based on both the type of content and how you
reached the site.
OK… Well, then let’s do that… Do it now!
Testing a small number of the most impactful social button
changes should produce enough evidence to give us a direction
to pursue.
Buzzfeed & OKTrends share several unique qualities:1) They have huge amounts of
social traffic2) Social shares are integral to their
business model3) The content they create is
optimized for social sharing
Unless we also fit a number of these criteria, I have to ask again:
Is this the most meaningful test we can perform right now?
BTW – it is true that testing social buttons can coincide with a lot of other tests (since it’s on content
vs. the funnel), but dev resources and marketing bandwidth probably are not infinite
Does it still work better than standard link text?
Anchor Text
Psh. Anchor text links obviously work. Otherwise
Google wouldn’t be penalizing all these sites for
getting them.
It has been a while since we’ve seen a public test of anchor text. And there’s no way to know for
sure how powerful it still is.
Testing in Google is very, very hard. There’s so many confounding
variables – we’d have to choose our criteria carefully and repeat the test multiple times to feel confident of
any result.
1) Three word, informational keyword phrase with relatively light competition and stable rankings
Test Conditions:
2) We selected two results (“A” and “B”), ranking #13 (“A”) and #20 ( “B”) in logged-out, non-personalized results
3) We pointed links from 20 pages on 20 unique, high-DA, high-trust, off-topic sites at both “A” and “B”
A) We pointed 20 links from 20 domains at this result with anchor text exactly matching the query
phrase
#11
#12
#13
#14
#15
#16
#17
#18
#19
#20
B) We pointed 20 links from the same 20 pages as “A” to this URL
with anchor text that did not contain any words in the query
#11
#12
#13
#14
#15
#16
#17
#18
#19
#20
#1
#2
#3
#4
#5
#6
#7
#8
#9
#10
After 20 days, all of the links had been indexed by Google. “A” and “B” both moved up 4 positions. None of the other results moved more than 2
positions.
See? Told you it works.
While both results moved up the same number of positions, it’s
almost certainly the case that #13 to #9 was against more serious
challengers, and thus anchor text would seem to make a difference. That said, I’d want to repeat this
a few times.
Princess Bubblegum and I are in agreement. We should do the test at least 2-3 more times keeping as
many variables as possible the same.
1) Three word, informational keyword phrase with relatively light competition and stable rankings
Early Results from a Second Test:
2) We selected two results (“A” and “B”), ranking #20 (“A”) and #14 ( “B”) in logged-out, non-personalized results
3) We pointed links from 20 pages on 20 unique, high-DA, high-trust, off-topic sites at both “A” and “B”
B) We pointed 20 links from 20 domains to this URL with anchor
text that did not contain any words in the query
#11
#12
#13
#14
#15
#16
#17
#18
#19
#20
A) We pointed 20 links from the same pages/domains at this result with anchor text exactly matching
the query phrase
#11
#12
#13
#14
#15
#16
#17
#18
#19
#20
#1
#2
#3
#4
#5
#6
#7
#8
#9
#10
After 16 days, all of the links had been indexed by Google. “A” moved up 19 positions to #1! B moved up 5 positions to #9. None of the other results moved more than 2 positions.
Good thing we tested!
This is looking more conclusive, but we
should run at least one more test.
Anchor text = rankings. Stick a
fork in it!
Does it influence Google’s non-personalized search rankings?
Google+
Good discussion about Google+ correlations in this post
Google+ is just too damn high.
Good discussion about Google+ correlations in this post
From a comment Matt Cutts left on the blog post:“Most of the initial discussion on this thread seemed to take from the blog post the idea that more Google +1s led to higher web ranking. I wanted to
preemptively tackle that perception.”
Good discussion about Google+ correlations in this post
To me, that’s Google working really hard to NOT say “we don’t use any data from Google+ (directly or indirectly) at all in our ranking algorithms.” I would
be very surprised if they said that.
Google explicitly SAID +1s don’t affect rankings. You
think they’d lie so blatantly? As if.
The correlations are surprisingly high for something with no
connection. There have been several tests showing no result,
but if all it takes is a Google+ post, let’s do it!
First, remember how hard it is to prove causality with a public test
like this. And second, don’t let anything but consistent, repeatable, provable results sway your opinion.
#21
#22
#23
#24
#25
#26
At 10:50am, the test URL ranked #26 in logged-out, non-
personalized, non-geo-biased, Google US results.
42 minutes later, after ~30 shares, 40 +1s, and several other G+ accounts posting
the link, the target moved up to position #23
#21
#22
#23
#24
#25
#26
#21
#22
#23
#24
#25
#26
48 hours later, after 100 shares of the post, 95 +1s, and tons of additional posts, the result was
back down to #25
At least we proved one thing – the Google+ community is
awesome. Nearly 50 people shared the URL in their own
posts on G+!
Many G+ users personalized results, however, were clearly
affected.
#21
#22
#23
#24
#25
#26
#27
#28
#29
#30
Something very strange is happening in relation to the test URL in my personalized results,
though. It’s actually ranking LOWER than in non-personalized
results.
Could Google be donking up the test?
Sadly, it’s impossible to know.
GASP!!! The posts did move the result up, then someone
from Google must have seen it and is messing with
you!!!
Sigh… It’s possible that Jenny’s right, but impossible to prove. We don’t know for sure what caused the initial movement, nor can we
say what’s causing the weird personalized results.
More testing is needed, but how you do it without any potential
monkey wrenches is going to be a big challenge.
That said, remember this:
Phew! We’re not alone.
Via Chartbeat
If I were Google, I wouldn’t use Google+ activity by itself to rank anything, but I would connect G+
to my other data sources and potentially increase a page’s
rankings if many pieces of data told a story of engagement &
value for visitors.
Ready to Be Your Own Skeptic?
Rand Fishkin, Wizard of Moz | @randfish | rand@moz.com
bit.ly/mozskeptics
Recommended