Digital communication in practice: performance marketing (display+search). Geotargeting. Socio...

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10  lundis  pour  

ra.raper  le  train  du  digital  

Performance  Marke-ng  

Search  vs  Display  

10  lundis  pour  

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History  

The  Display  Adver-sing  ecosystem  is  changing  drama-cally  

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History  Google  transformed  the  ad  market  into  an  automated    

stock  market  :  Text  Link  in  2002    

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History  Google  transformed  the  ad  market  into  an  automated    

stock  market  :  Display  in  2008    

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What  is  Performance  ?   Definition

Performance marketing is defined by getting measurable return on investment.

Unlike traditional marketing platforms such as TV, print or radio,

Performance Marketing implies pay-for-performance. This means that one

pays only a fixed amount per action or share of revenue per sale rather than

paying for advertising and then hoping for the best.

Advertisers pay a set price for a defined action such as a download, a visit, a lead,

a click, a registration, an information request, a purchase, etc.

Pricing is appealing to advertisers as the majority of risk is passed on to

Sales-House.

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How  does  it  work  ?   Search : text link

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How  does  it  work  ?   Social : text link

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,-.,-*/,#$/#0,-(&#'%#'(1(0-$#

8%G*<%"2*49*G%#,*F* Display : graphical

Skyscraper

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How  does  it  work  ?   Conversion TAG

We absolutely need to place pixels to be able to measure the performance of your

campaign.

A pixel is a single line of HTML coding that is placed on the “Thank You” page of

a website, or the page directly following the conversion. When the “Thank

You” page appears, we receive a request from the browser for this 1x1 pixel

which alerts us that a conversion has occurred.

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Performance  Marke-ng  

Search  Engine  Marke-ng  

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/"'#)0*H(.4("2*

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Campaign  strategy  

CAMPAIGN ORGANISATION

Network selection !

Format!

Geo-targeting & language!

Focus on brands,

products & strategies!

Timing & daily

budget!

Keywords & adtext!

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Keywords  selec-on  

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Successful  Ads  

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Advertiser MaxCPC Quality Score

Rank Number

Position Actual CPC

A 0,40! 1,8 0,40 x 1,8 =

0,72 1 0,37!

(0,65/1,8 + 0,01)

B 0,65! 1,0 0,65 x 1,0 =

0,65 2 0,39!

(0,38/1,0 + 0,01)

C 0,25! 1,5 0,25 x 1,5 =

0,38 3 0,08! (= min bid)

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More than Pay Per Click :

Rank = MaxCPC x Quality Score

!" Bidding System that requires active and ……frequent management for improving Quality.!

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;<*#'(,*

Advertiser MaxCPC Quality Score

Rank Number

Position Actual CPC

A 0,40! 1,8 0,40 x 1,8 =

0,72 1 0,37!

(0,65/1,8 + 0,01)

B 0,65! 1,0 0,65 x 1,0 =

0,65 2 0,39!

(0,38/1,0 + 0,01)

C 0,25! 1,5 0,25 x 1,5 =

0,38 3 0,08! (= min bid)

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;<*#'(,*

More than Pay Per Click :

MaxCPC :

!" You only pay when someone clicks on your ad!

!" The cost per click depends on the competition!

!" The max CPC is the maximum you’re ready to pay …..for a click!

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More than Pay Per Click :

Quality Score :

!" Keyword’s relevance to search query

!" Keyword’s historical CTR on Google

!" Account’s historical performance on Google

!" Other relevant factors!

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Advertiser! MaxCPC! Quality Score!

Rank Number! Position! Actual

CPC!

A! 0,40#! 1,8! 0,40 x 1,8 = 0,72! 1!

0,37" (0,65/1,8 +

0,01)!

B! 0,65#! 1,0! 0,65 x 1,0 = 0,65! 2!

0,39" (0,38/1,0 +

0,01)!

C! 0,25#! 1,5! 0,25 x 1,5 = 0,38! 3! 0,08"

(= min bid)!

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User searches through Google!

User visits site, resulting in conversion (purchase,

registration, etc.)!

User reaches !“Thank you” page and

sees Google image!

Advertiser account$is updated with conversion

data!

User clicks on !ad and cookie is placed!

User searches through Google

ad and cookie is placed User visits site, resulting in conversion (purchase,

Convertion page!Landing page!

“Thank you” page and sees Google image

«%Thank you%» Google!

is updated with conversion

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Performance  Marke-ng  

Display  Marke-ng  

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2. Click

3. Conversion

1. Impression

Every impression / click / action generated is recorded within the ad server with date and time (via cookies).

Landing Page

Fill in

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Campaign  priority  

Adv. Imp. Clics CTR CONV CPM CPC CPA Budget eCPM Position

A 1.500.000 5.000 0,3% 2,00 € 3.000,00 € 2,00 € 4

B 1.250.000 5.000 0,4% 0,80 € 4.000,00 € 3,20 € 1 C 1.500.000 7.500 0,5% 0,50 € 3.750,00 € 2,50 € 3

D 1.000.000 5.000 0,5% 100 30 € 3.000,00 € 3,00 € 2

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The Click Through Rate is an inadequate

indicator undervaluing the ads

efficiency.

- 20% of conversions originate from clicks.

- Whereas 79.6% of conversions originate

from the contact with the advert

without clicking.

Distribution of the standard banner conversions in the world, Post-Impression vs Post-Click,

Q3 2009-Q2 2010 (% of total)

- 20% of conversions originate from clicks.

- Whereas 79.6% of conversions originate

Post-Impression Conversions

79,6%

Post-Clic Conversions

20,4%

Source: MediaMind, « Standard Banners-Non-Standard Results »

Beyond the click

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Retarge-ng  

Retargeting pixels simply drop a cookie on a users machine when a page on the

clients website is visited, this identifies the user as being part of a population

for re-targeting should that user re-enter our network.

When setting up retargeting for an advertiser or a publisher, there are three steps:

- Setting up ad servers to read and write specific data to the cookie.

- Building the population.

- Targeting a media or campaign back to the population.

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N'24)KM"9'#."-(.*

Thanks to retargeting, we find your users back on the sites of

our network and show them your specific ads with a personalized message in priority

Only 2% of users buy on the site during their first visit

Banner 1 Banner 2 or nothing

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37('&4)KM"9'#."-(.*

Campaign delivery When the concerned users go on our network, the customized ads are shown to the relevant users.

Product data collection (thanks to a cookie) We memorize the products of the users browsing / surfing on partners sites

Choice of the relevant strategies 1 – Products consulted 2- Similar products to the products consulted or placed in the basket page of the site

3- Complementary products to the product purchased

Data collection Strategy choices Diffusion

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27

Hitech.com

500!

The user has seen a 46cm TV on the Hitech.com site

We personalize the banners by showing the products previously consulted by the user.

We personalize the banners by highlighting the products from the same category in the banners (TV size, price, brand, etc…)

We personalize the banners by highlighting additional products In this case, it could be a DVD player or home cinema sound system.

Product recall Recommendations Cross selling

The user has placed the TV in the basket page but has not bought the product.

The user has bought a 46cm TV

Hitech.com

300!

Hitech.com

100!

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Duplica-on  

Duplication occurs when two or more online properties take the credit for the

same sale.

The industry uses the last click/impression/search as the means for determining

which property generated the sale/action.

This is fundamentally flawed because several number of exposures and touch

points are required to result in a sale. Also, this method does not factor in

the impact of any offline activity.

Short of asking a user it is impossible to determine what creative messages

influenced the user to buy/engage.

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Duplica-on  The overlapped areas are the ‘risk of duplication’ for each network. The network with the largest spend will have the highest chance of being the last exposure. The network with the lowest spend will be ‘handicapped’. The conversion is firstly assigned to the last click or to the last impression.

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AdExchange  

Display  Network  

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AdExchange  :  the  explosion  

353 million $ spent in the US in 2010 on Real-Time Bidding *

x 2 forecasted in the US in 2011 in terms of spending on Real-Time Bidding*

87% of US advertisers intend to try media buying via Real-Time bidding in 2011**

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;*)0'(.4(.*")%2729"&*

Agencies -

Trading desks

DSP Demand side

platforms

Sales House

- Adnetworks

DEMAND SUPPLY AUTOMATISATION TECHNOLOGY

SSP Supply side platforms Editeurs Advertisers

Sales

Editeurs Publishers AdExchange

Ad Exchange are now in the middle of transactions between advertisers, sales houses, and publishers…

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SELL SIDE PLATFORM

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DEMAND SIDE PLATFORM

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TRADING DESK

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ADNETWORKS

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ADEXCHANGE

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RTB

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Case  Study  

AOL  

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Site  Audience  

•  Customer: AOL

•  Sector: travel

•  Activity: renting of family holiday resorts

•  Problematic: less and less sales via travel agencies

decrease of the website audience

•  Target: Increase sales rapidly

•  Proposition: Search Engine Marketing & Display Advertising

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Search  Engine  Marke-ng  

Natural  Search  

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SEO  

SEO involves making the pages of a site more easily accessible to search engines spiders and emphasising the key topics relating to a specific site.

SEO

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Keywords  Analysis  

§  By basing ourselves on requests actually made on the main international search tools, we give the current trend of the market. !

§  To do this, we use a database which is updated daily and which contains the requests made on several of the main international search engines and directories : Bing, Google and Yahoo.!

§  To customize a search engine optimization work, it is necessary to focus the efforts on keywords and associations really used by internet users. !

§  By basing ourselves on the keywords which define the activity of the site, we undertake an analysis which allows us to determine the best keywords for search engine optimization.!

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SEO  

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Content  op-miza-on  Page Titles

Content title

URL

Content

Navigation

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SEO FACTORS#Contributing to optimal rankings

URL FACTORS#- Search Engine Friendly URL’s - Site Structure - Domain Life Spam

ON-PAGE FACTORS - Content Relevance - Meta Tags - Keyword Density

OFF-PAGE FACTORS#- Inbound Links from Directories - Online Press Releases - Blogs, RSS Feeds & More

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Thank  You  

Vincent  Delmoae  vdelmoae@hi-­‐media.com  

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