The planning toward the Arrow of Light. The goal of the Cub Scout Pack should be: for the Cubmaster and the Webelos Den leaders to graduate every Webelos

  • View

  • Download

Embed Size (px)

Text of The planning toward the Arrow of Light. The goal of the Cub Scout Pack should be: for the Cubmaster...

Webelos to Scout Transition

Webelos to Scout Transition

The planning toward theArrow of Light

Typical Scout Calendar year is from June 1 to May 31 of the following year. The transition to Boy Scouts is normally a two year process for most Cub Scouts.1THE CUB SCOUT PACK GOALThe goal of the Cub Scout Pack should be: for the Cubmaster and the Webelos Den leaders to graduate every Webelos Scout into a Boy Scout Troop.

The key to accomplishing this is to begin promoting Boy Scouting when the Cub Scouts are still in their Tiger, Wolf, and Bear Dens while selling the sizzle of the great outdoors. Scouting should be viewed as an ongoing adventure, and the progression should be as normal as moving from elementary school to middle school.

2Most Webelos Scouts are in this process for about 18 months Webelos Handbook, page 4The transition from Cub Scout Pack to Boy Scout Troop should be smooth, and hopefully, with no time lost in between.By the time a Cub Scout is ready to transition, hopefully he and his family are familiar with the Boy Scout Troop-both leadership and Scouts. Depending on how your program is designed, you could be a one year or two year plan. The Webelos Den has from 12 to 24 months to earn their rank and Arrow of Light. It can be done in as little as 6 months but should not be the standard and is not recommended.3Well Be Loyal Scouts

Here is some trivia for you---What did Webelos stand for before Well Be Loyal Scouts? Wolf, Bear, Lion, Scout. This was the progression from Cub Scouts to Boy Scouts. The Well Be Loyal Scouts are LOYAL to COUNTRY, HOME, and GOD.4So What AreThe Pack LeadersRESPONSIBILITIES?To work with and guide the Webelos Cub Scout to be the best he can be, all the way to the Boy Scout Troop.Develop a working relationship with the leadership of the Boy Scout Troop in your community.Compare calendars of Troop and Pack activities to coordinate activities. Try to do some community events together.Work with Troop leaders to secure den leaders for the Pack.Work with Troop leaders to plan and conduct the Webelos overnight activities.Work with Troop leaders to plan the Troop Meeting Visits.Invite Troop leaders both young and adult to Pack nights or other special activities.Plan a meaningful crossover ceremony.Encourage your Webelos leaders to move into the Troop with the boys too.5So What Are theScouts RESPONSIBILITIES?To earn their Bobcat Badge, Webelos Badge, Compass Point Badge, and Arrow of Light Badge.To have fun and adventure.To attend the Webelos Den meetings.To wear the Scout uniform with PRIDE.To achieve as many activity badges as they can.To advance the Webelos Trail and grow in knowledge and skills.To crossover to Boy Scouts.6Webelos DenA Webelos Den size should range from 6 to 8 Scouts that are in the fourth or fifth grade or are 10 years of age.The Webelos program is designed to start challenging the Scouts more physically and mentally with the achievements they start to earn.

Some Webelos Dens are designed in patrols like a Scout Troop. They have place the Scouts in Patrols of five or so Webelos and they use the Patrol Method of organization. This method gives the Scouts experience in group dynamics and leadership. It places the responsibility on the Scout and teaches them how to accept it. It allows the Scouts to interact in small groups. Within the group there is a Patrol Leader who is elected by the Scouts.7Arrow of LightRequirementsThere are three types of Webelos-level achievements, and they overlap each other in the two years of the Webelos program:The Webelos badgeThe Compass points emblem and compass pointsThe Arrow of Light

The first year of Webelos, the focus is on the Webelos badge and the three activity badges.8The WEBELOS Badge

9So how do they earn theirWebelos Badge?The first step in earning Arrow of Light is to earn the rank of Webelos.Bobcat BadgeBe an active member for 3 months.Know and explain the meaning of the Webelos BadgeBe able to identify the 3 parts of the Webelos uniformEarn Fitness and Citizen activity badges and 1 other badge from a different activity groupPlan and lead a flag ceremonyShow the you know and understand the requirements to be a Boy ScoutScout Salute, Scout Sign, Scout Handshake and explain when to use themExplain the Scout Oath, Scout Motto, Scout SloganExplain and agree to the Outdoor Code-Leave No Trace BehindComplete the Faith Requirements10The COMPASS POINT Badge

11Compass PointsAfter the Webelos badge is earned then your Scout can begin his journey on earning the Compass Points Emblem.The Compass Point Emblem consists of three points.The compass points emblem is awarded after the Scout has earned the Webelos badge and four additional activity badges for a total of 7.A compass point will be added to the emblem for each additional four activity badges the Scout earns for a total of 19 activity badges.If a Webelos Scout completes all 20 activity badges, they will earn the Webelos Super Achiever badge.12The ARROW OF LIGHT Badge

13ARROW OF LIGHTThe Arrow of Light is the highest rank in Cub Scouting.

The Webelos Scout must be active in the den for at least 6 months and earn the Webelos badge.The Scout must show and tell of their knowledge of the Boy Scout Oath, Promise, Moto, Slogan, Handshake, Sign, Salute, and the Law.The Scout must be able to tell how the Cub Scout uniform is different from the Boy Scout uniform.The Scout must be able to tie the joining knot (square knot).The Scout must earn a total of eight activity badges, including: citizen, readyman, fitness, and outdoorsman.The total must include at least one from each of the five activity badge groups.The Arrow of Light Award can be worn under the left pocket of the Scout uniform and is the only Cub Scout award that can be worn on the Boy Scout uniform.It is more challenging to earn than the Webelos badge. The Arrow of Light represents the Sun over the Arrow with seven rays bursting from the Sun. Each ray represents each day of the week. This is a symbol to remind the Webelos Scout to do his best everyday and that he is ready to transition into the Boy Scouts

14Arrow of Light RequirementscontinuedThe Webelos Scout must visit at least :One Boy Scout Troop meetingOne Boy Scout Troop outdoor activityThe Webelos Scout must participate in a Webelos overnight campout or day hike.Arrange a visit, with your parents, to a Boy Scout Troop Meeting and have a conference with the Scoutmaster of the Troop.Complete the Honesty Character Connection.If the scout has already done these when they earned their outdoorsman activity badge, they may not use it to fulfill the requirements for the Arrow of Light Award! 15CROSSOVER CEREMONY

16Planning the meaningfulcrossover ceremonyCan be done at the Blue and Gold Dinner in February or done as a separate occasion later in the Scout year.Arrange for the Troop Scoutmaster to be present to accept the Webelos Scout as they graduate to Boy Scouting.


18What are the Requirements for joining Boy Scouts?Must be at least 11 years of age unless they have completed the Webelos program and earned his Arrow of Light then they can join at 10 years of age.Must fill out an application to join and pay the application fee.19THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME AND EFFORTS IN SCOUTING.