List of Districts of Rajasthan

  • Published on

  • View

  • Download

Embed Size (px)


  • 7/27/2019 List of Districts of Rajasthan


    List of districts of Rajasthan

    TheIndianstate ofRajasthanis divided into 33 districts for administrative purposes. The responsibilities of

    district management are carried out by a number ofAll-Indiaofficials and a number ofstate-appointed

    officials. The All-India officials in each district are aDeputy Commissioneror district Magistrate (from theIndian Administrative Service), aSuperintendent of Police(from theIndian Police Service) and aDeputy

    Conservator of Forests(from theIndian Forest Service), each of which is assisted by officers of various

    Rajasthan state services. The state-appointed officials are responsible for matters such as health, education,

    and agriculture in each district. The 33 districts are grouped into sevendivisions:

    District Headquarters Area (km) Population (2001) Division

    Ajmer Ajmer 8,481 2,180,526 Ajmer

    Alwar Alwar 8,380 2,990,862 Jaipur

    Banswara Banswara 5,037 1,500,420 Udaipur

    Baran Baran 6,955 1,022,568 Kota

    Barmer Barmer 28,387 1,963,758 Jodhpur

    Bharatpur Bharatpur 5,066 2,098,323 Bharatpur

    Bhilwara Bhilwara 10,455 2,009,516 Ajmer

    Bikaner Bikaner 27,244 1,673,562 Bikaner

    Bundi Bundi 5,550 961,269 Kota

    Chittorgarh Chittorgarh 10,856 1,802,656 Udaipur

    Churu Churu 16,830 1,922,908 Bikaner

    Dausa Dausa 2,950 1,316,790 Jaipur

    Dholpur Dholpur 3,084 982,815 Bharatpur

    Dungarpur Dungarpur 3,770 1,107,037 Udaipur

    Hanumangarh Hanumangarh 12,645 1,517,390 Bikaner

    Jaipur Jaipur 14,068 5,252,388 Jaipur

    Jaisalmer Jaisalmer 38,401 507,999 Jodhpur

    Jalor Jalore 10,640 1,448,486 Jodhpur

    Jhalawar Jhalawar 6,219 1,180,342 Kota

    Jhunjhunu Jhunjhunu 5,928 1,913,099 Jaipur

    Jodhpur Jodhpur 22,850 2,880,777 Jodhpur

    Karauli Karauli 5530 1,205,631 Bharatpur

    Kota Kota 12,436 1,568,580 Kota

    Nagaur Nagaur 17,718 2,773,894 Ajmer

    Pali Pali 12,387 1,819,201 Jodhpur

    Pratapgarh Pratapgarh - - Udaipur

    Rajsamand Rajsamand 4,768 986,269 Udaipur

    Sawai Madhopur Sawai Madhopur 10,527 1,116,031 Bharatpur

    Sikar Sikar 7,732 2,287,229 Jaipur

    Sirohi Sirohi 5,136 850,756 Jodhpur

    Sri Ganganagar Sri Ganganagar 7,984 1,788,487 Bikaner

    Tonk Tonk 7,194 1,211,343 Ajmer,_Rajasthan,_Rajasthan,_Rajasthan,_Rajasthan,_India,_India,_Rajasthan,_Rajasthan,_Rajasthan,_Rajasthan,_Rajasthan,_India,_India,_Rajasthan,_Rajasthan,_Rajasthan,_India,_Rajasthan,_Rajasthan
  • 7/27/2019 List of Districts of Rajasthan


    Udaipur Udaipur 17,279 2,632,210 Udaipur

    Rajasthan Jaipur 342,239 56,473,122 28.33%

    Ajmer district

    Ajmer District is a district of thestateofRajasthanin westernIndia. The city ofAjmeris the district


    Ajmer District has an area of 8,481 km, and a population of 2,180,526 (2001 census),Three main groups

    are; Hindu 1,869,044, Muslim 244,341, Jains 47,812. The district is situated in the center of Rajasthan, and

    is bounded byNagaur Districtto the north,JaipurandTonkdistricts to the east,Bhilwara Districtto the

    south, andPali Districtto the west.


    Ajmer Geography

    The eastern portion of the district is generally flat, broken only by gentle undulations, but the western parts,

    from north-west to south-west, are intersected by the greatAravalli Range. Many of the valleys in this

    region are sandy deserts, part of India'sThar Desert, with an occasional oasis of cultivation, but there are

    also some very fertile tracts; among these is the plain on which lies the town of Ajmer. This valley, however,

    is not only fortunate in possessing a noble artificial lake, but is protected by the massive walls of the

    Nagpathar range or Serpent rock, which forms a barrier against the sand. The only hills in the district are the

    Aravalli Range and its offshoots. Ajmer is almost totally devoid of rivers, theBanasbeing the only stream

    which can be dignified with that name, and it only touches the south-eastern boundary of the district so as to

    irrigate the pargana of Samur. Four small streamsthe Sagarmati, Saraswati, Khari and Daialso intersect

    the district. In the dry weather they are little more than brooks.

    The district is divided into four subdivisions, Ajmer,Beawar,KekriandKishangarh, and further subdivided

    into sixtehsils, Ajmer, Beawar,Nasirabad, India, Kekri, Kishangarh.


    Ajmer(Rajasthani:,pronounced[dmer] ( listen)), formerly written Ajmere, is a city inAjmer

    DistrictinIndia'sRajasthanstate. Ajmer is located 135 kilometres (84 mi) west to state capitalJaipur. Being

    surrounded by theAravalli Mountains, Ajmer, also known as Ajaymeru, was the city once ruled by

    Prithviraj Chauhan. Its population was approximately 500,000 in 2001. The city gives its name toAjmer

    district, and also to a former province ofBritish Indiacalled Ajmer-Merwara, which, after India's

    independence, became the state of Ajmer. On November 1, 1956, it was merged intoRajasthanstate.


    1 Geography 2 Transportation 3 History 4 Places of interest 5 Education 6 Demographics


View more >