Graduate School - Royal Northern College of Music ... Research Methods: Artistic Research, Music Education,

  • View
    0

  • Download
    0

Embed Size (px)

Text of Graduate School - Royal Northern College of Music ... Research Methods: Artistic Research, Music...

  • Graduate School

    Prof David Horne Head of Graduate School

    Dr Simon Clarke Deputy Head of Graduate School

  • All postgraduate programmes revalidated

    From September 2019

  • Flexibility of Graduate School Programmes Master’s degrees (MMus, MPerf) PGDip Advanced Studies (requires Master’s degree)

    1 or 2 year route Flexible timetable, broad assessment schedule spread over

    the year Vocational training, practical experience Choice of research module option Options for research specialisms, training for research degree

    applications

  • MMus Composition Conducting (2 year only) Performance Popular Music

  • Two-year MMus 180 credits

    Year 1 Core Principal Study (no credits) + 2 Modules 30 credits

    Year 2 Core Principal Study 60 credits + Research module choice 30 credits + 1 Module 30 credits

  • One-year MMus 180 credits

    Core Principal Study 60 credits + Research module choice 30 credits + 3 additional Modules 3 x 30 credits

  • Postgraduate Diploma: Advanced Studies

    PGDipAS (one year)

    120 credits

    Core Principal Study 60 credits + 2 Modules 2 x 30 credits

  • Performance/Composition Assessment 60 credits

    Traditional concert recital (A) OR major opera role / concerto performance / large-scale new work/opera/installation (B)

    Further option, 50% each of A & B

  • Practical Optional Modules (30 credits) Accompaniment Dr David Jones david.jones@rncm.ac.uk

    Arrangement Professor Adam Gorb adam.gorb@rncm.ac.uk

    Aural Analysis and Critique Dr Mauricio Pauly mauricio.pauly@rncm.ac.uk

    Composition Elective Professor Adam Gorb adam.gorb@rncm.ac.uk

    mailto:david.jones@rncm.ac.uk mailto:adam.gorb@rncm.ac.uk mailto:mauricio.pauly@rncm.ac.uk mailto:adam.gorb@rncm.ac.uk

  • Practical Optional Modules Continued

    Conducting Elective Mark Heron mark.heron@rncm.ac.uk

    Contemporary Songwriting Dr Rodrigo Constanzo rodrigo.constanzo@rncm.ac.uk

    Electric Experimental Ensemble Dr Mauricio Pauly mauricio.pauly@rncm.ac.uk

    Dalcroze Eurhythmics Karin Greenhead karin.greenhead@rncm.ac.uk

    mailto:mark.heron@rncm.ac.uk mailto:rodrigo.constanzo@rncm.ac.uk mailto:mauricio.pauly@rncm.ac.uk mailto:karin.greenhead@rncm.ac.uk

  • Practical Optional Modules Continued

    The Freelance Musician Dr Adam Swayne adam.swayne@rncm.ac.uk

    Musicianship for Instrumentalists Dr Simon Parkin simon.parkin@rncm.ac.uk

    Musicianship for Vocalists: Consort Singing Prof Lynne Dawson lynne.dawson@rncm.ac.uk

    mailto:adam.swayne@rncm.ac.uk mailto:Simon.Parkin@rncm.ac.uk mailto:lynne.dawson@rncm.ac.uk

  • Practical Optional Modules Continued

    Practical Pedagogy Dr John Habron john.habron@rncm.ac.uk

    Professional Audition Professor Lynne Dawson lynne.dawson@rncm.ac.uk

    Professional Placement Andrea Vogler andrea.vogler@rncm.ac.uk

    Small Ensemble Performance (Chamber Music, Jazz, Historically Informed Performance) Jeremy Young jeremy.young@rncm.ac.uk

    mailto:john.harbron@rncm.ac.uk mailto:lynne.dawson@rncm.ac.uk mailto:hannah.mccabe@rncm.ac.uk mailto:jeremy.young@rncm.ac.uk

  • Research Module Choices

    Dalcroze in Context Dr John Habron john.habron@rncm.ac.uk

    Dissertation, Major/Minor (60/30 credits) (10,000/5,000 words) Prof David Horne david.horne@rncm.ac.uk

    Repertoire Project Dr Simon Clarke simon.clarke@rncm.ac.uk

    mailto:john.habron@rncm.ac.uk mailto:david.horne@rncm.ac.uk mailto:john.habron@rncm.ac.uk

  • Research Module Choices

    Research Lecture Recital Prof David Horne david.horne@rncm.ac.uk

    Research Methods: Artistic Research, Music Education, Music Psychology and Musicology prof David Horne david.horne@rncm.ac.uk Dr John Habron john.habron@rncm.ac.uk Prof Jane Ginsborg jane.ginsborg@rncm.ac.uk Dr Simon Clarke simon.clarke@rncm.ac.uk

    mailto:david.horne@rncm.ac.uk mailto:david.horne@rncm.ac.uk mailto:john.harbron@rncm.ac.uk mailto:john.harbron@rncm.ac.uk mailto:john.habron@rncm.ac.uk

  • Non-Credit Module

    Introduction to Music Theory for Postgraduate Students simon.clarke@rncm.ac.uk

    mailto:david.horne@rncm.ac.uk

  • Practically-Oriented Modules • Accompaniment • Arrangement • Aural Analysis and Critique • Composition Elective • Conducting Elective • Contemporary Songwriting • Dalcroze Eurhythmics and Dynamic Rehearsal Electronic • Electric Experimental Ensemble • The Freelance Musician • Musicianship for Instrumentalists • Musicianship for Vocalists: Consort Singing • Practical Pedagogy • Professional Audition • Professional Placement • Small Ensemble Performance

  • Research module choices

    • Dalcroze in Context • Dissertation (minor/major) • Repertoire Project • Research Lecture Recital • Research Methods (AR, Musicology, ME, MP)

  • Modules contributing to Specialisms

    • Dalcroze in Context (ME) • Dissertation (minor/major) • Performing Arts Leadership: Creative Learning in the Classroom (ME) • Practical Pedagogy (ME) • Research Lecture Recital (A) • Research Methods in Artistic Research (A) • Research Methods in Music Education (ME) • Research Methods in Music Psychology (MP) • Research Methods in Musicology (M)

  • Specialisms • Artistic Research • Musicology • Music Psychology • Music Education

    Require 90 credits for each specialism

  • Principal Study (60 credits level 6)

    2 Year MMus

    Year 1

    2 Optional Modules (2x30)

    Year 2

    Research Module Choice (30)

    Optional Module (30)

    Principal Study (60)

    1 Year MMus

    3 Optional Modules (3x30) Research Module Choice (30)

    Principal Study (60)

  • Principal Study (60)

    1 Year MMus with Research Specialism

    Major Dissertation (60)

    Research Methods (30)

    Lecture Recital (30)

    Practical Pedagogy/

    Performing Arts Leadership (30)

    Optional Module (30)

    MMus

    Artistic Research MMus

    Music Education

    MMus

    Musicology

    MMus

    Music Psychology

    Minor Dissertation (30)

    Optional Module (30)

  • Principal Study (60 credits level 6)

    2 Year MMus with Research Specialism

    Year 1

    Major Dissertation (part 1)

    Research Methods (30)

    Optional Module/

    Lecture Recital (30)

    Optional Module/

    Lecture Recital (30) Optional Module/

    Practical Pedagogy

    Performing Arts Leadership (30)

    Optional Module/

    Practical Pedagogy/

    Performing Arts Leadership (30)

    Year 2

    Major Dissertation (part 2) (60)

    Minor Dissertation (30)

    Principal Study (60)

    Optional Module (30)

    MMus

    Artistic Research

    MMus

    Music Education

    MMus

    Musicology

    MMus

    Music Psychology

  • MMus – possible routes

  • MMus Popular Music

    Principal study (may include composition)

    Contemporary Songwriting Electric Experimental Ensemble Dissertation (minor) Freelance Musician

  • MMus Performance (vocal)

    Principal study

    Small Ensemble Performance Musicianship for Singers: Consort Singing Research Lecture Recital Freelance Musician

  • MMus Performance

    Principal study (piano solo)

    Accompaniment Research Lecture Recital Research Methods: Artistic Research Dissertation (minor)

    MMus in Performance and Artistic Research

  • MMus Performance (oboe)

    Principal study

    Arrangement Research Methods: Musicology Dissertation (major)

    MMus in Performance and Musicology

  • MMus Performance (oboe)

    Principal study

    Arrangement Research Methods: Musicology Dissertation (major)

    MMus in Performance and Musicology

  • MMus – student interested in jazz Performance (saxophone)

    Principal study (jazz)

    Small Ensemble Performance (jazz group) Dissertation (minor- jazz related topic) Freelance Musician (promoting their jazz group) Advanced Musicianship for Instrumentalists (jazz transcription)

  • MMus – student interest in historically informed performance Performance (violin)

    Principal study

    Small Ensemble Performance (HiP) Dissertation (minor- HiP related topic) Research Methods: Artistic Research (HiP) Research Lecture Recital (HiP)

    MMus in Performance and Artistic Research

  • Contact

    Prof David Horne Head of Graduate School david.horne@rncm.ac.uk

    Dr Simon Clarke Deputy Head of Graduate School simon.clarke@rncm.ac.uk

    mailto:david.horne@rncm.ac.uk mailto:david.horne@rncm.ac.uk

  • www.rncm.ac.uk

    Any questions?