Click here to load reader

Food pyramid

  • View

  • Download

Embed Size (px)



Text of Food pyramid

  • 1. the FOODPyramid Steps to a healthier you

2. Eating Right Every Day A healthful meal includes a variety of foods. Eating a variety of foodsgives your body the nutrient it needs. The food guide pyramid is a tool to help you choose foods for ahealthful diet. It tells how many servings you should eat from eachgroup each day. The six groups of the food pyramid are: Grains Vegetables Fruits Milk Oil Meat and beans 3. The Food PyramidSteps to a healthier youGRAINS VEGETABLES FRUITS OILS MILK MEAT & BEANS 4. Grains The widest from the group, it contains whole andprocessed grains The grain food group is further divided into twocategories: whole grains and refined grains. Grain recommendations vary from six to 11 servings. 5. Vegetables The vegetable food group is divided into five separate categories based on vegetable color. These categories are: * dark green vegetables, * orange vegetables, *dry beans and peas, * starchy vegetables*other vegetables.- Servings of vegetables are measured in cups and recommended intake ranges from 2 to 3 cups 6. Fruits Any fruit or 100% fruit juice counts as part of the FruitGroup. Fruits may be fresh, canned, frozen, or dried, and maybe whole, cut-up, or pureed Children should have 1 to 2 cups per day 7. Oils Oils are fats that are liquid at room temperature, like thevegetable oils used in cooking. Oils come from many different plants and from fish. Oils are NOT a food group, but they provide essentialnutrients 8. Milk Milk, fluid milk products and foods made from milk thatstill contain significant calcium make up the milk foodgroup on the food guide pyramid. Examples of foods that are contained in this categoryare cheese, yogurt and milk-based dessert, such aspudding and ice cream. 9. Meat and Beans The meat and beans category is made up of meat,poultry, fish, beans, eggs, nuts and seeds. Dry beans and peas belong to both the meat andbeans group and the vegetables group