Chemist wins Spinoza prize

  • Published on

  • View

  • Download

Embed Size (px)


<ul><li><p>PEOPLE &amp; PLACES UPDATE</p><p>September 200452</p><p>Please send details of new appointments, honors, and awards to</p><p>Engineering appointmentsThree engineering departmentshave announced the appointment ofnew heads: The University of Illinois at</p><p>Chicago has named PrithBanerjee as dean of the Collegeof Engineering. Banerjee is theWalter P. Murphy Professor andchairman of electrical andcomputer engineering atNorthwestern University;</p><p> Julia King, currently chiefexecutive of the Institute ofPhysics, is to be the newprincipal of the Faculty ofEngineering at Imperial CollegeLondon. She is expected to jointhe UKs largest engineeringdepartment later this year;</p><p> Pradeep K. Khosla is the newdean of the College ofEngineering at Carnegie MellonUniversity in Pittsburgh. He takesover from John L. Anderson, whohas moved to become theprovost of Case Western ReserveUniversity.</p><p>All change at NASANASA has named Orlando Figueroaand Alison L. McNally as deputyassociate administrators in its newScience Mission Directorate. Theappointments are part of thetransformation of NASAsorganizational structure, which isdesigned to streamline theorganization and position it to bebetter able to implement itsstrategic priorities. Figueroa will beresponsible for ensuring that soundmanagement and safe engineeringpractices are followed and willoversee the evaluation of programsand projects. McNally will beresponsible for generalmanagement of the Science MissionDirectorate, making sure strategicbusiness processes are in place.</p><p>New champion of UK chemistrySimon Campbell is the newpresident of the UK Royal Societyof Chemistry (RSC). He succeeds SirHarry Kroto and will continueKrotos efforts in promotingchemistry at a time when some UKuniversity departments are closing.Campbell has already launched theRSCs Campaign for ChemicalSciences with the message that, ifchemical sciences are not cherished,then Britains future health andwealth will be severely eroded.</p><p>Cicerone to head academyThe next president of</p><p>the US National</p><p>Academy of Sciences</p><p>(NAS) is to be Ralph J.</p><p>Cicerone, chancellor</p><p>of the University of</p><p>California, Irvine</p><p>(UCI). Cicerone has</p><p>been nominated with</p><p>the unanimous</p><p>approval of the</p><p>Council of the NAS. </p><p>It is an enormous honor to be nominated for the</p><p>presidency of the academy, says Cicerone. The</p><p>importance of science and technology to the United</p><p>States and the world has never been greater, and I</p><p>look forward to serving if I am elected.</p><p>Cicerone will continue to serve as UCI chancellor for</p><p>the next academic year before succeeding the current</p><p>president Bruce Alberts in July 2005. I am very</p><p>pleased that Ralph Cicerone has accepted our</p><p>councils nomination, says Alberts. He has been an</p><p>energetic and thoughtful leader for many of our</p><p>academys efforts, as well as for the larger science</p><p>community.</p><p>Chemist wins Spinoza prizeBen L. Feringa, professor of synthetic organic</p><p>chemistry at the University of Groningen, the</p><p>Netherlands, is one of four researchers to receive the</p><p>2004 Spinoza prize for outstanding and pioneering</p><p>research. Each winner receives 1.5 million from the</p><p>Netherlands Organization for Scientific Research</p><p>(NWO) to devote to their research.</p><p>Feringas research focuses on the design and</p><p>synthesis of complex supramolecular materials and</p><p>enantioselective catalysts. He has demonstrated a</p><p>molecular motor powered by light and designed</p><p>chiral molecular switches for data storage.</p><p>Acta Materialia awards announcedThe 2005 Acta Materialia Gold Medal has been</p><p>awarded to George D. W. Smith, head of the</p><p>Department of Materials at the University of Oxford,</p><p>in recognition of his research contributions and</p><p>leadership in materials science. Acta Materialia, Inc.</p><p>also announces that the 2005 J. Herbert Holloman</p><p>Award goes to Alton D. Romig, Jr., vice president for</p><p>nonproliferation and assessments at Sandia National</p><p>Laboratories. Romig is recognized for his pioneering</p><p>work in analytical electron microscopy, for leadership</p><p>in microsystems science and technology, and</p><p>research management at Sandia.</p><p>Materials council elects AkincMufit Akinc, chair of the Department of Materials</p><p>Science and Engineering at Iowa State University, has</p><p>been elected vice chair of the University Materials</p><p>Council (UMC). This puts Akinc in line to become</p><p>chair-elect next year, before assuming the chair of</p><p>the council.</p><p>UMC is the official organization of heads of materials</p><p>science and engineering programs in the US and</p><p>Canada. It conducts surveys to benchmark student</p><p>enrollment, degrees, faculty salaries, and research</p><p>funding. It also serves as a forum for best practice in</p><p>areas such as student recruitment and emerging</p><p>research.</p><p>Akincs research interests include the synthesis,</p><p>processing, and characterization of novel materials</p><p>for high-temperature structural applications.</p><p>New director for nano instituteThe new director general of the National Institute for</p><p>Nanotechnology (NINT) in Edmonton, Canada will be</p><p>Nils Petersen, vice president of the University of</p><p>Western Ontario. He will take charge of the National</p><p>Research Council (NRC) institute in November. </p><p>Nils Petersen is uniquely qualified for his role at the</p><p>institute, says NRC acting president, Michael</p><p>Raymont. He has extensive experience in two areas</p><p>that are integral to NINTs success: multidisciplinary</p><p>research and administration of a diverse research and</p><p>development program.</p><p>NINT was established in 2001 as a multidisciplinary</p><p>institution for advanced research and to foster</p><p>innovation through the support of new</p><p>nanotechnology-based firms.</p><p>Nobel laureate to lead LBNLSteven Chu has been named as the new director of</p><p>Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL),</p><p>succeeding Charles V. Shank. Chu, a Nobel laureate</p><p>for his part in developing optical tweezers, is</p><p>currently a professor in Stanford Universitys physics</p><p>and applied physics departments.</p><p>The opportunity to lead LBNL at this time is an</p><p>exciting prospect and a tremendous honor, says Chu.</p><p>He will oversee a $521 million operation with a</p><p>4000-strong workforce.</p></li></ul>