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How to Rank in Google

How to Rank in Google

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A presentation on local, paid and organic search optimization for local businesses. Presented as part of the Buzz Box series through http://www.milehighbusinessalliance.org/

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  • How to Rank in Google

  • How consumers search

    Local listings

    Paid listings

    Web SEO

    Measuring results

    Hello!

  • Two OctobersHelps local businesses get customers through online marketing.

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/adulau/4242287504

  • Consumers Primary Source to

    30%

    20%

    10%

    SearchEngines Print YP

    Internet YP

    Local Search Other

    Find Local Businesses

    Source: TMP Directional Marketing/15miles & comScore, Local Search Usage Study, Q3 2010

  • Why Consumers

    30%

    20%

    10%

    BusinessLocation

    Select a Local Business

    Most Familiar

    Ratings & Reviews

    First Result

    Has Print YP Ads

    Source: TMP Directional Marketing/15miles & comScore, Local Search Usage Study, Q3 2010

  • e Search Engines We Use

    50%

    20%

    70%

    60%

    40%

    30%

    10%

    Google Yahoo! Bing Ask AOL

    Source: Hitwise, 4 weeks ending 01/01/11

  • Local Listings

    Web Listings

    Paid Listings

    Paid

  • How We Look At Search Results

    2010, ionadas local LLC and Sentient Services, LP www.ionadas.com, www.sentientservices.com

  • What About Me? What Should I Focus On?

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/chitrasudar/2785759455/

  • It Depends...

    Image attribution on last slide

  • Local Listings

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/lorenzinhos/1410985867/ Local SEO

  • Local Listings

    Paid Listings

    Paid

  • Local SEO

    Claim Your Listing

  • http://www.flickr.com/photos/tanelteemusk/2966785202/

    Mmm donuts!Next stop: bakery

    Research the keywords people use to find businesses like yours.

  • Local SEO

    Pick the right keywords

    adwords.google.com/select/KeywordToolExternal

  • Pick the right keywords

    Local SEO

  • Local SEO

    Get Reviews

  • Local SEO

    Judys Book (273K)

    Local.com(32M)

    Dex (5M)

    YahooLocal(65M)

    Yelp (18M)

    Citysearch (34M)

    Mapquest (78M)

    YP.com (26M)

    InsiderPages (5M)

    BingLocal(48M)

    Superpages(16M)

    MerchantCircle (9M)

    Google Local (381M)

    Get Reviews

  • Local SEO

    Judys Book (273K)

    Local.com(32M)

    Dex (5M)

    YahooLocal(65M)

    Yelp (18M)

    Citysearch (34M)

    Mapquest (78M)

    YP.com (26M)

    InsiderPages (5M)

    BingLocal(48M)

    Superpages(16M)

    MerchantCircle (9M)

    Google Local (381M)

    Get Reviews

  • Local SEO

    Judys Book (273K)

    Local.com(32M)

    Dex (5M)

    YahooLocal(65M)

    Yelp (18M)

    Citysearch (34M)

    Mapquest (78M)

    YP.com (26M)

    InsiderPages (5M)

    BingLocal(48M)

    Superpages(16M)

    MerchantCircle (9M)

    Google Local (381M)

    Get Reviews

  • Get Citations

    Local SEO

  • Local SEO

    Get Citations

  • Use your business name, phone number and address consistently

    Local SEO

    ubl.org

    Your citys business directory

    Professional associations

    Manufacturer websites

    Press releases & press coverage

    Contributed articles & blogs

    Get Citations

  • You fit neatly into a known business category

    You get foot traffic

    You have a shot at position #1

    Local SEO

    Who is Local SEO for?

    Everybody

    Claim & complete your place page Especially when...

  • Paid Listings

    PPC Adshttp://www.flickr.com/photos/zoonabar/154373661

  • Local Listings

    Paid Listings

    Paid

  • Geographic Targeting

    PPC

  • Turn it On & O

    PPC

    II can switch it on to hit sales targets or to "ll in gaps in my schedule.

  • PPC

    pay your way to the top of results

  • Long-tail Keyword Targeting

    PPC

  • ROI

    100 clicks generate two conversions, each click costs $1, each conversion costs $50

    CPC x Clicks# of Conversions

    Cost per Acquisition (CPA) =

  • ROI

    The Bakery: clicks cost $0.40, 5% (5/100) convert to sales. CPA = $8

    Too Much!

  • ROI

    The Furniture Restorer: clicks cost $2.00, 2% (2/100) convert to sales. CPA = $100

    Just Right!

  • Who is PPC for?

    Businesses that

    Have a good idea of the value of a lead

    Dont rank well in local SEO

    Can afford CPC & management costs

    Do business in a region, not just a town

    But not so much when ...

    PPC

    The value of a lead is low

    People dont tend to search for what you sell

    You have a long sales cycle

  • Web SEO

    Web SEOhttp://www.flickr.com/photos/zoonabar/154373661

  • Local Listings

    Paid Listings

    Paid

    Web Listings

  • http://www.flickr.com/photos/tanelteemusk/2966785202/

    Mmm donuts!Next stop: bakery

    Keyword research benefits local listings, paid listings and web SEO.

  • Unique, accurate page titles and meta description tag

    Human-readable URLs

    Keyword-heavy links

    H tags used for important content

    Alt tags on images

    Keyword-rich domain name

    Robots.txt

    Quality of other sites you link to

    Location in site hierarchy

    Page load time

    Keyword proximity

    Number of links on a page

    Frequency of page updates

    Domain age

    Keyword density

    Topic of other sites you link to

    Sitemap.xml

    No cloaking

    No links to web spam sites

    Frequent server downtime

    Invisible text

    Uncrawlable text

    Keyword font size

    Keyword phrase order

    Valid internal links

    Intra-site linking

    Page file size

    URL length

    Keyword stuffing

    Excessive cross-linking

    Updating content too frequently

    Excessive javascript

    Using frames

    Single pixel links

    Duplicate content

    Low content to code ratio

    Keyword prominence

    Keyword in alt text

    Efficient linking to all pages

    Keyword font size

    Keyword phrase order

    Valid internal links

    Intra-site linking

    Page file size

    URL length

    Keyword stuffing

    Too many hyphens in URL

    Page theming & consistency

    Age of page vs. age of site

    Overuse of H1 tags

    On-Site Factors

    Web SEO

    Write good quality content.

    Write each page to highlight one or two keywords. Go deep.

    Important content is text, not graphics. Avoid Flash.

  • Use your business name consistently

    & always try to get a link

    ubl.org

    Your citys business directory

    Professional associations

    Manufacturer websites

    Press releases & press coverage

    Contributed articles & blogs

    Web SEO

    Get Inbound Links

  • Local results arent shown for some % of your keywords

    Youre trying to reach a national audience

    Youve got lots of content or products covered on your website

    Expertise is an important part of your business

    Who is Web SEO for?

    Everybody

    Cover the basics

    Especially when...

    Web SEO

  • Measuring Results

  • Track Ranking

  • Measure Trac

  • http://www.flickr.com/photos/wapster/914442189/

    Measure Revenue

  • Local Online MarketingTwitter: @TwoOctobersFacebook: Two Octobers

    Blog: www.TwoOctobers.com/blog

  • Additional image credits, slide 11http://www.flickr.com/photos/autohistorian/4936499517/

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/27745117@N00/3901450063/http://www.flickr.com/photos/thetruthabout/4600646376/

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/mr_t_in_dc/2936284329/http://www.flickr.com/photos/dan4th/3107012507/

    How to Rank in Google